Randle completes Gold Coast F4 clean sweep

Sunday 25th October, 2015 - 1:15pm


Tom Randle

Tom Randle

Tom Randle proved untouchable on the Gold Coast streets as he wrapped up a clean sweep of victories in the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship.

The Dream Motorsport driver completed a lights-to-flag drive in the final race of the weekend leading home team-mate Luis Leeds and championship leader Jordan Lloyd.

“We just got it right this weekend after the horror at Sandown and the dramas we had, we all put our heads together and worked really hard to try and see where we could improve.” said Randle.

Randle quickly opened up a gap on the field following his expert getaway from pole position, while Leeds slipped back to third behind Lloyd.

While Randle enjoyed a lonely race out front, all eyes were on the battle for second which raged between Lloyd and Leeds.

Lloyd seemed to have Leeds under control only for the latter to produce an impressive move around the outside of the Team BRM driver on the final corner of the last lap.

The pair were locked in a drag race to the line with Leeds just pipping his rival by 0.046s.

Will Brown came home in fourth ahead of Team BRM’s Harry Hayek and Zane Goddard.

Brown had been locked in fight with Jimmy Vernon before contact between the pair forced the AGI Sport driver into the pits with a broken front wing.

Francesco Maiolo, Tom Grech and debutant Jordan McGregor completed the finishers.

The championship resumes with a visit to Phillip Island from November 20-22 with Lloyd leading Randle by 39 points in the standings.

Result: CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Race 3, Surfers Paradise

1 Dream Motorsport Thomas Randle (VIC) Mygale 15 19:31.2395
2 Dream Motorsport Luis Leeds (VIC) Mygale 15 19:35.5521
3 Team BRM Jordan Lloyd (QLD) Mygale 15 19:35.5983
4 Cars Galore / AGI Sport William Brown (QLD) Mygale 15 19:39.8931
5 Team BRM / Laing+Simmons Potts Harry Hayek (NSW) Mygale 15 19:41.1668
6 Team BRM/BGD Architects/PWR/Pa Zane Goddard (QLD) Mygale 15 19:41.9763
7 Team BRM Francesco Maiolo (SA) Mygale 15 19:54.1890
8 IQ Option Racing / AGI Sport Tom Grech (VIC) Mygale 15 20:36.4428
9 Jordan McGregor Motorsports Jordan McGregor (QLD) Mygale 15 20:43.0855
10 Team Toolforce Racing / AGI Sport James Vernon (NSW) Mygale 14 19:55.9840 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!