V8 stars set for Highlands Australian GT finale

Friday 23rd October, 2015 - 12:22pm


Highlands Park will welcome a section of V8 Supercars stars for championship finale

Highlands Park will welcome a section of V8 Supercars stars for championship finale

A selection of V8 Supercars drivers will headline a bumper 29 car field for next month’s Australian GT Championship finale at New Zealand’s Highlands Park circuit.

The Highlands 101 endurance meeting has attracted drivers from Australia’s premier series with Garth Tander, Shane Van Gisbergen, Fabian Coulthard, Dale Wood and Andre Heimgartner set to feature on the grid.

Holden Racing Team star Tander returns to the event alongside series owner Tony Quinn, rekindling a partnership which won last year’s 101 lap endurance in dramatic circumstances.

This year the pair will team up in Quinn’s McLaren 650S, which they shared at this year’s Phillip Island 101 in May.

Tekno Autosport driver and McLaren GT specialist van Gisbergen will also pilot a 650S GT3 alongside former Australian GT champion Klark Quinn.

The Kiwi will bring a wealth of experience to the team having raced for the Von Ryan Racing McLaren outfit in Europe’s Blancpain Endurance Series.

Fellow countryman Coulthard will swap his Brad Jones Racing V8 Supercar for an Audi R8 GT3 as he pairs up with the experienced Peter Fitzgerald.

The New Zealander’s BJR V8 Supercars team-mate, Wood, will join Justin McMillan in the M Motorsport Reiter Camaro.

Meanwhile, Super Black Racing’s Heimgartner completes the V8 Supercars contingent in the Simon Ellingham Fastway Couriers Porsche.

Porsche Carrera Cup ace Craig Baird will also make an appearance at the event in the Scott Taylor Motorsport Porsche 997 GT3R.

Adding an international flavour is two-time Nurburgring 24 hour winner Christopher Haase who will join Steve McLachlan in the Jamec Pem Racing Audi R8.

The 28-year-old factory Audi pilot featured in the Phoenix Racing squad at this year’s Bathurst 12 Hour.

The Highlands 101 will also see Carrera Cup racer and GT driver Roger Lago make his competitive return after suffering a broken leg, fractured ribs and a punctured lung in a crash at Townsville in July.

Following a lengthy recovery period, Lago will team up with David Russell in the Lago Racing Lamborghini REX Gallardo.

Former V8 Supercars driver Cameron McConville will return to action rejoining the Maranello Motorsport alongside Adrian Deitz.

Chris Mies leads the Australian GT Championship by 65 points from Nathan Antunes heading into the final round, which features two 60 minute sprint races followed by the non championship Highlands 101 endurance contest.

Australian GT Highlands Park Entry List 

Car # Division Sponsor Driver Racing In AGT Rnd 6 / 101 Vehicle
2 Championship EVA Racing / Evolve Technik Peter Fitzgerald R6 / 101 Audi R8 Ultra
Fabian Coulthard 101
3 Trophy Motor School Ben Foessel R6 / 101 Ginetta G50Z
Cooper Hayden R6 / 101
6 Championship Skwirk / Beechwood Homes Nathan Antunes R6 / 101 Audi R8 Ultra
Rod Salmon 101
7 Championship Darrell Lea Anthony Quinn R6 / 101 McLaren 650S GT3
Garth Tander R6 / 101
8 Championship Maranello Motorsport Adrian Deitz R6 / 101 Ferrari 458 GT3
Cameron McConville R6 / 101
11 Championship Objective Racing Tony Walls R6 / 101 McLaren 650S GT3
Warren Luff 101
12 Challenge Walz Group Brendan Cook R6 / 101 Porsche GT3 Cup Car MY09
Matt Kingsley R6 / 101
19 Trophy Hogs Breath Café Mark Griffith R6 / 101 Audi R8 LMS
Daniel Gaunt 101
22 Championship Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor R6 / 101 Porsche 997 GT3-R
Craig Baird R6 / 101
23 Champ Lago Racing Roger Lago R6 / 101 Lamborghini R-EX
David Russell 101
27 Championship Trass Family Motorsport Jono Lester R6 / 101 Ferrari 458 GT3
Graeme Smyth R6 / 101
28 Championship Erebus Motorsport Morgan Haber R6 / 101 Mercedes Benz AMG SLS GT3
Jack LeBrocq 101
33 Trophy Fastway Couriers Simon Ellinghham R6 / 101 Porsche GT3 Cup Car MY11
Andre Heimgartner 101
36 Championship Erebus Motorsport Max Twigg R6 / 101 Mercedes Benz AMG SLS GT3
Geoff Emery R6 / 101
37 Championship Darrell Lea Klark Quinn R6 / 101 McLaren 650S GT3
Shane Van Gisbergen R6 / 101
38 Trophy Adina Apartment Hotels Greg Taylor R6 / 101 Audi R8 LMS
Barton Mawer R6 / 101
48 Championship Interlloy M Motorsport Justin McMillan R6 / 101 Reiter Camaro GT3
Dale Wood R6 / 101
51 Championship AMAC Motorsport Andrew Macpherson R6 / 101 Porsche 997 GT3-R
Bradley Shiels R6 / 101
53 Challenge SAFE-T-STOP Richard Gartner R6 / 101 Porsche GT3 Cup Car MY09
Indiran Padayachee 101
54 Challenge Donut King Tony Alford R6 / 101 Nissan GTR
68 Challenge Thomson Geer Lawyers Michael O’Donnell R6 / 101 Porsche GT3 Cup Car MY09
69 Trophy Supabarn Supermarkets Theo Koundouris R6 / 101 Porsche 996 GT3-S
Marcus Marshall 101
73 Championship HHH Racing/Triffid/ESP Michael Hovey R6 / 101 Ginetta G55 GT3
Matt Campbell R6 / 101
74 Championship JAMEC PEM Racing Christopher Mies R6 / 101 Audi R8 Ultra
Ryan Millier R6 / 101
75 Championship JAMEC PEM Racing Steven McLaughlan R6 / 101 Audi R8 Ultra
Christopher Hasse 101
77 Trophy JJA Consulting Group Jan Jinadasa R6 / 101 Lamborghini LP560-4 GT3 2011
Steve Owen 101
80 Championship Flying B Racing Peter Edwards R6 / 101 Bentley Continental GT3
John Bowe R6 / 101
88 Championship Maranello Motorsport Tony D’Alberto R6 / 101 Ferrari 458 GT3 2014
Grant Denyer R6 / 101
95 Championship Miedecke Motor Group Andrew Miedecke R6 / 101 Aston Martin Vantage GT3
George Miedecke R6 / 101 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!