Moffat tops final V8 Supercars practice

Friday 23rd October, 2015 - 5:14pm


James Moffat

James Moffat

James Moffat set the pace in the final V8 Supercars practice session with a last gasp run on soft tyres at the Surfers Paradise street circuit.

The Nissan driver proved strong on both tyre compounds but it was a final run on the soft tyres that saw Moffat post a 1:10.7s to eclipse Tekno Autosport’s Shane van Gisbergen.

“The car is pretty strong on both tyres. We were on the soft tyre at the end but so were a few other drivers,” said Moffat.

“I was really impressed with what I did there. The car was really hooked and when they are like that they are good fun to drive.”

In the end just 0.07s split the pair with van Gisbergen’s effort arriving on the soft tyres.

Red Bull’s Craig Lowndes was third, posting his personal best on hard tyres, while Nissan’s Michael Caruso was fourth.

David Reynolds, who enjoyed a spell at the top of the times earlier in the hit-out, ended the session in fifth.

Scott McLaughlin, Will Davison, James Courtney, championship leader Mark Winterbottom and Scott Pye completed the top 10.

Reigning champion Jamie Whincup could only manage a time good enough for 24th position.

His Red Bull team were forced to work on the #1 car prior to the session after a vibration was discovered in Practice 3.

Practice was halted for 10 minutes due to an issue with the kerbs at the first chicane.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 4, Surfers Paradise

1 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:10.7995*S
2 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:10.8727 S 00.0732
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:11.0603 H 00.2608
4 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:11.0731 S 00.2736
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.0814 S 00.2819
6 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:11.0976 H 00.2981
7 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:11.1347 S 00.3352
8 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:11.1819 S 00.3824
9 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.1938 S 00.3943
10 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.1996 S 00.4001
11 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:11.2330 S 00.4335
12 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:11.2513 H 00.4518
13 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:11.2650 S 00.4655
14 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:11.2762 S 00.4767
15 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:11.3490 S 00.5495
16 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:11.3761 S 00.5766
17 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:11.4673 S 00.6678
18 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:11.7200 S 00.9205
19 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:11.7487 H 00.9492
20 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.8097 H 01.0102
21 Pepsi Max Crew Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.8747 S 01.0752
22 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:11.9911 S 01.1916
23 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:12.0454 H 01.2459
24 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:12.1884 H 01.3889
25 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 1:12.7396 H 01.9401 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!