Marquez pips Lorenzo in Phillip Island epic

Sunday 18th October, 2015 - 5:17pm



Marc Marquez

A last gasp overtaking move saw Marc Marquez snatch victory from Jorge Lorenzo in an incredible Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island.

The reigning world champion had been firmly in the hunt for victory throughout but it was a final lap surge that allowed Marquez to pass Lorenzo to take the chequered flag in a breathtaking climax.

Lorenzo, who had led the majority of the encounter, was left to settle for second, with Ducati’s Andrea Iannone coming home in third ahead of championship leader Valentino Rossi.

The result has seen the title race take another twist with Lorenzo cutting the deficit to Rossi to 11 points.

Marquez’s victory was his 50th career MotoGP win, while Yamaha secured the manufacturers’ crown.

The battle for victory quickly developed into a thrilling four rider battle between Lorenzo (Yamaha), Marquez (Honda), Iannone (Ducati) and Rossi (Yamaha).

Iannone initially led the contest as he made the most of his Ducati’s supreme straight-line speed.

The pace advantage ensured he would play a factor throughout the race although the Italian was lucky not to lose momentum when he was struck by a seagull on the second lap.

It wasn’t long before Lorenzo moved into the lead and began to gap the field, opening up a 1.1s lead over the squabbling trio of Iannone, Marquez and Rossi.

With Lorenzo starting to drift away at the front, Marquez set his sights on reeling in the Yamaha rider midway through the race, bringing Rossi and Marquez along with him.

In the end, it came down to a straight fight between Lorenzo and Marquez, with the latter making the most of the fastest lap of the race on the final tour to complete a thrilling victory.

Iannone, who swapped positions with Rossi on several occasions during the race, just edged the nine-time world champion to third.

Behind the drama at the front, Honda’s Dani Pedrosa came home in fifth ahead of Suzuki’s Maverick Vinales, LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow and Tech 3 Yamaha’s Pol Espargaro.

LCR Honda’s Jack Miller managed to haul his Open class bike to 15th spot to secure a point, while fellow countryman Anthony West finished in 23rd spot.

New South Welshman Damian Cudlin, deputising for the injured Alex de Angelis, retired from the race.

Alex Rins proved untouchable in Moto2 as he recorded his second victory of the season with a comfortable 6.6s margin over Sam Lowes and Lorenzo Baldassarri.

Australian Josh Hook managed to bring his Technomag Racing Interwetten machine home in 20th position.

In Moto3, Miguel Oliveria kept his title hopes alive as he took victory, while championship leader Danny Kent was caught up in a multiple bike crash involving fellow title contender Enea Bastianini.

Efren Vazquez secured second spot with Brad Binder completing the podium in third.

Meanwhile, Aussie Remy Gardner claimed his best result of the season in 10th after charging from 28th on the grid.

Fellow Australians Olly Simpson finished 19th, while Matt Barton retired from the race.

Result: MotoGP Australian Grand Prix, Phillip Island 

Position Rider Bike Gap
1 Marc Márquez Honda 27 Laps
2 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha +0.249s
3 Andrea Iannone Ducati +0.930s
4 Valentino Rossi Yamaha +1.058s
5 Daniel Pedrosa Honda +5.062s
6 Maverick Viñales Suzuki +6.800s
7 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda +9.375s
8 Pol Espargaró Tech 3 Yamaha +18.401s
9 Aleix Espargaró Suzuki +20.039s
10 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha +20.657s
11 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda +21.846s
12 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati +22.840s
13 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati +29.168s
14 Álvaro Bautista Gresini Aprilia +37.244s
15 Jack Miller LCR Honda +40.192s
16 Héctor Barberá Avintia Ducati +48.263s
17 Yonny Hernández Pramac Ducati +48.572s
18 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha +48.677s
19 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda +50.201s
20 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Ducati +50.262s
21 Stefan Bradl Gresini Aprilia +50.277s
22 Toni Elías Forward Yamaha +1:20.942s
23 Anthony West AB Honda 1:23.454
DNF Nicky Hayden Honda Retirement
DNF Damian Cudlin ART/Aprilia Retirement

Championship Standings

Position Rider Points
1 Valentino Rossi 296
2 Jorge Lorenzo 285
3 Marc Márquez 222
4 Andrea Iannone 188
5 Daniel Pedrosa 165
6 Bradley Smith 158
7 Andrea Dovizioso 153
8 Cal Crutchlow 107
9 Danilo Petrucci 97
10 Pol Espargaró 96
11 Aleix Espargaró 88
12 Maverick Viñales 84
13 Scott Redding 78
14 Yonny Hernández 49
15 Héctor Barberá 30
16 Loris Baz 28
17 Álvaro Bautista 28
18 Jack Miller 17
19 Nicky Hayden 16
20 Stefan Bradl 11
21 Eugene Laverty 9
22 Michele Pirro 8
22 Katsuyuki Nakasuga 8
24 Mike Di Meglio 8
25 Hiroshi Aoyama 5
26 Takumi Takahashi 4
27 Alex de Angelis 2 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!