Volvo announces multi-year WTCC program

The all new Volvo S60 TC1 race car

The all new Volvo S60 TC1 race car

Volvo will return to the World Touring Car Championship next year following the announcement of a multi-year program by Polestar Cyan Racing.

The Swedish manufacturer’s motorsport arm plans to field two all new four cylinder turbo powered Volvo S60 TC1 race cars in 2016.

Polestar Cyan Racing is yet to disclose its driver line up although Swedish touring car aces Robert Dahlgren, Fredrik Ekblom and Thed Bjork have all been part of the car’s development program.

Volvo last appeared in the WTCC in 2011 when former Polestar Racing GRM V8 Supercars driver Dahlgren piloted a C30, recording a best result of fourth at Oschersleben.

The announcement arrives exactly 30 years after Volvo claimed the 1985 European Touring Car Championship title with the iconic 240 Turbo.

“We have chosen the FIA WTCC as our global motorsport platform as it combines the cutting edge technology of our Volvo cars with exciting racing all over the world,” said Niels Möller, COO of Polestar, the Volvo Cars Performance Brand.

“The championship enables us to further develop our technology and utilise development from the racing circuits directly to our products for performance oriented Volvo customers.”

Polestar Cyan Racing boss Christian Dahl admitted the 2016 season will be a learning year as the team gets to grip with the championship’s TC1 regulations.

“We have got respect for the task ahead of us that we take on with absolute commitment,” said Christian Dahl, CEO of Cyan Racing.

“This is a long-term effort and we have got an extensive testing programme during the winter that will continue alongside our first WTCC season in 2016 that is all about learning.”

Polestar Cyan Racing currently provides engineering support to Garry Rogers Motorsport’s V8 Supercars program.

VIDEO: Volvo returns to World Touring Car Championship

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]