Tim Slade to replace Fabian Coulthard at BJR

Tim Slade

Tim Slade

Tim Slade will make the switch from Walkinshaw to Brad Jones Racing next season, Speedcafe.com has learned.

BJR has moved quickly to fill the seat previously held by Fabian Coulthard, who was officially confirmed at DJR Team Penske earlier today.

The 30-year-old Slade has spent the last two seasons at Walkinshaw, driving the squad’s Supercheap Auto backed third entry.

Supercheap is expected to switch to Prodrive Racing Australia next year, triggering the move for Slade.

The South Australian has made over 200 V8 Supercars Championship starts since his debut in 2009. Finishing second on five occasions, he is still looking for his first race win.

Led by Coulthard, BJR has proven a frequent race winner since the Car of the Future was introduced in 2013.

The remainder of the team’s line-up remains uncertain, with Jason Bright and Dale Wood both out of contract.

David Reynolds had earlier been in discussions to fill Coulthard’s BJR seat, but appears to have pinned his hopes on being retained at Prodrive.

Walkinshaw Racing meanwhile insists it will continue to field all four of its entries next year, despite the impending exit of Supercheap and Slade.

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]