Winterbottom/Owen lead Pirtek Enduro Cup

The Pirtek Enduro Cup

The Pirtek Enduro Cup

Mark Winterbottom is on course to score a Pirtek Enduro Cup and V8 Supercars Championship double after extending his lead in both points standings at Bathurst.

Prodrive duo Winterbottom and Steve Owen go into the final two Pirtek Enduro Cup races at the Castrol Gold Coast 600 leading the standings after a win at Sandown and a second at Bathurst.

Winterbottom/Owen sit on 576 Pirtek Enduro Cup points, 78 ahead of the Holden Racing Team’s Garth Tander and Warren Luff.

Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen and Jonathon Webb sit a further 50 points back in their Tekno Holden, despite a tough run at Bathurst.

Bathurst winners Craig Lowndes and Steve Richards hold Red Bull Racing Australia’s hope of winning a third consecutive Pirtek Enduro Cup. The Holden pair sit in fourth position another six points back on 432.

The Red Bull team won the inaugural Pirtek Cup in 2013 through Lowndes and Luff with the Brisbane squad going back-to-back with Jamie Whincup and Paul Dumbrell last year.

The original Pirtek Cup was crafted by world-renowned automotive artist James Corbett and the perpetual trophy, which has been crafted from Pirtek fittings and stainless steel.

It is housed in a purpose built road case, which was designed and built by the Red Bull team.

A two-third scale replica of the Pirtek Cup is created by Corbett each year and remains a permanent fixture in the winning team’s trophy cabinet after they have handed the main trophy back.

Pirtek Enduro Cup points

1 Mark Winterbottom/Steve Owen 576
2 Garth Tander/Warren Luff 498
3 Shane van Gisbergen/Jonathon Webb 438
4 Craig Lowndes/Steve Richards 432
5 David Reynolds/Dean Canto 426
6 Lee Holdsworth/Sébastien Bourdais 360
7 Fabian Coulthard/Luke Youlden 354
8 Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat 348
9 Tim Slade/Tony D’Alberto 330
10 Jack Perkins/Russell Ingall 312
11 Chaz Mostert/Cameron Waters 276
12 Michael Caruso/Dean Fiore 276
13 Jason Bright/Andrew Jones 270
14 Rick Kelly/David Russell 270
15 James Moffat/Taz Douglas 258
16 Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell 222
17 Dale Wood/Macauley Jones 210
18 Will Davison/Alex Davison 210
19 Tim Blanchard/Karl Reindler 180
20 Todd Kelly/Alex Buncombe 156
21 Scott Pye/Marcos Ambrose 138
22 Andre Heimgartner/Ant Pedersen 108
23 Aaren Russell/Drew Russell 108
24 Nick Percat/Oliver Gavin 96
25 Ash Walsh/Jack Le Brocq 96
26 Simona de Silvestro/Renee Gracie 84
27 David Wall/Chris Pither 84

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]