Nico Rosberg charges to Russian GP pole

Sunday 11th October, 2015 - 12:15am


Nico Rosberg

Nico Rosberg

Nico Rosberg defeated Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton to secure pole position for the Russian Grand Prix.

The German driver had dominated qualifying at Sochi before posting a 1:37.113s effort to claim pole by 0.320s from title rival Hamilton.

Hamilton was unable to match Rosberg’s pace throughout with his session ending with a mistake that saw him run wide at Turn 12 on his final run.

Williams’ Valtteri Bottas emerged as the best of the rest in third, with the Finn ahead of the Ferrari duo of Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen.

Force India confirmed their impressive practice pace with Nico Hulkenberg sixth and Sergio Perez in seventh.

The Lotus of Romain Grosjean,Toro Rosso’s Max Verstappen and Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo completed the top 10.

Local favourite Daniil Kvyat narrowly missed out on a spot in Q3, leaving the Red Bull driver to settle for 11th on the grid for his home race.

The Russian will start alongside Sauber’s Felipe Nasr with McLaren’s Jenson Button in 13th position.

Felipe Massa struggled for speed in Q2 which saw him well adrift of the front running pace in 15th spot, behind the Lotus of Pastor Maldonado.

McLaren’s Fernando Alonso was the first knocked out of Q1 although the two-time world champion will be demoted to back of the grid as a result of a 25 place grid penalty for a change of engine components.

Marcus Ericsson will start from 16th ahead of the two Manor entries of Will Stevens and Roberto Merhi.

Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz was absent from the session following a high speed Practice 3 crash that saw the Spaniard airlifted to a nearby hospital.

Scans have since revealed that Sainz escaped the incident without injury.

Result: Formula 1 Russian Grand Prix Qualifying, Sochi

Position Driver Team Time Gap
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:37.113s
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:37.433s +0.320s
3 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1:37.912s +0.799s
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:37.965s +0.852s
5 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:38.348s +1.235s
6 Nico Hülkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1:38.659s +1.546s
7 Sergio Pérez Force India/Mercedes 1:38.691s +1.578s
8 Romain Grosjean Lotus/Mercedes 1:38.787s +1.674s
9 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Renault 1:38.924s +1.811s
10 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1:39.728s +2.615s
11 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/Renault 1:39.214s +2.101s
12 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1:39.323s +2.210s Q2
13 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 1:39.763s +2.650s Q2
14 Pastor Maldonado Lotus/Mercedes 1:39.811s +2.698s Q2
15 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1:39.895s +2.782s Q2
16 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1:40.660s +3.547s Q1
17 Will Stevens Marussia/Ferrari 1:43.693s +6.580s Q1
18 Roberto Merhi Marussia/Ferrari 1:43.804s +6.691s Q1
19 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1:40.144s +3.031s Q1 (25 place penalty)
20 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!