Lowndes scores sixth Bathurst 1000 victory

Lowndes and Richards celebrate victory

Lowndes and Richards celebrate victory

Craig Lowndes and co-driver Steven Richards have taken victory in a typically dramatic Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Lowndes vaulted ahead of David Reynolds and Mark Winterbottom with a shorter fuel fill in the final pitstop under the Safety Car before sprinting away to victory.

Winterbottom and Steve Owen recovered from early electrical issues and a mid-race penalty to finish second, marking another significant step in the former’s title bid.

Garth Tander made the most of some frantic battling on the final restart with 18 laps remaining to take third alongside his co-driver Warren Luff.

All three cars had started outside the top 10 following Saturday’s rain-hit qualifying.

The final stops provided a dramatic twist when, running directly behind Reynolds, Winterbottom and Lowndes, Jamie Whincup ignored team orders to pit.

The six-time champion overtook the Safety Car as he blazed around for another lap and was later forced to take a drive-through as a result.

Whincup and co-driver Dumbrell were the fastest combination for the majority of the day, with the former excelling during a brief rain shower mid-race.

The former managed to pull a 30 second lead over the field before losing track position when the team had to attend to a throttle position sensor issue at the next pitstop.

Fabian Coulthard/Luke Youlden, Scott McLaughlin/Alex Premat and David Reynolds/Dean Canto completed the top six.

Reynolds was on course for second at the final restart before a dive-bomb from Coulthard shuffled the order; allowing Tander to carve through the pack.

Jason Bright and Andrew Jones were seventh after a late mistake from Shane van Gisbergen, who took the flag eighth.

Van Gisbergen and Jonathon Webb were among the front-runners until losing bulk track position stacking behind the DJR Team Penske Ford during the mid-race rush for wets.

DJRTP’s day ultimately came to a sorry end as Scott Pye caused the final yellow with a heavy crash at the top of the hill.

The South Australian managed to exit the car under his own power before being taken to the medical centre for further checks.

The Tim Blanchard/Karl Reindler Holden and Andre Heimgartner/Ant Pedersen Ford crashed out earlier in the day, while David Wall’s day lasted just 15 laps before engine failure struck.

Fluid from the Volvo caught out Renee Gracie; the Supergirls Ford requiring significant front-end repairs after head-butting the tyre wall.

The result though was all about Lowndes, who took a sixth victory as well as moving clear at the top of the all-time Bathurst podium finishes tally with 13.

Richards meanwhile picked up his fourth victory, handing Holden its 30th win on the mountain in the process.

Result: V8 Supercars Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, Mount Panorama 

1 Red Bull Racing Australia C.Lowndes/S.Richards Holden Commodore VF 161 06:16:07.7064
2 Pepsi Max Crew M.Winterbottom/S.Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 161 06:16:09.0718
3 Holden Racing Team G.Tander/W.Luff Holden Commodore VF 161 06:16:11.6580
4 Freightliner Racing F.Coulthard/L.Youlden Holden Commodore VF 161 06:16:12.1230
5 Wilson Security Racing GRM S.McLaughlin/A.Premat Volvo S60 161 06:16:17.4211
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team D.Reynolds/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 161 06:16:18.6895
7 Team BOC J.Bright/A.Jones Holden Commodore VF 161 06:16:19.7160
8 Team Darrell Lea STIX S.Van Gisbergen/J.Webb Holden Commodore VF 161 06:16:22.0181
9 Walkinshaw Racing L.Holdsworth/S.Bourdais Holden Commodore VF 161 06:16:22.4262
10 Nissan Motorsport J.Moffat/T.Douglas Nissan Altima 161 06:16:27.8991
11 Holden Racing Team J.Perkins/R.Ingall Holden Commodore VF 161 06:16:28.9028
12 Erebus Motorsport V8 W.Davison/A.Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 161 06:16:29.3302
13 Nissan Motorsport M.Caruso/D.Fiore Nissan Altima 161 06:16:37.2862
14 Supercheap Auto Racing T.Slade/T.D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 161 06:16:39.2995
15 GB Galvanizing Racing D.Wood/M.Jones Holden Commodore VF 161 06:16:39.6848
16 Nissan Motorsport R.Kelly/D.Russell Nissan Altima 161 06:16:42.9087
17 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go A.Russell/D.Russell Holden Commodore VF 161 06:16:51.2900
18 Red Bull Racing Australia J.Whincup/P.Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 161 06:17:09.6680
19 Repair Management Aust Racing N.Percat/O.Gavin Holden Commodore VF 159 06:16:47.0682
20 Nissan Motorsport T.Kelly/A.Buncombe Nissan Altima 156 06:17:31.9445
21 Harvey Norman Supergirls S.De Silvestro/R.Gracie Ford Falcon FG/X 121 06:17:51.3685
DNF DJR Team Penske S.Pye/M.Ambrose Ford Falcon FG/X 137 05:18:32.4136
DNF Erebus Motorsport V8 A.Walsh/J.Le Brocq Mercedes E63 AMG 135 05:18:29.6913
DNF Team Cooldrive T.Blanchard/K.Reindler Holden Commodore VF 78 02:57:48.9354
DNF Super Black Racing A.Heimgartner/A.Pedersen Ford Falcon FG/X 35 2:08.4341
DNF Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 15 2:09.5426

Championship Standings

1 Mark Winterbottom 2491
2 Craig Lowndes 2092
3 David Reynolds 2059
4 Chaz Mostert 2017
5 Fabian Coulthard 1934
6 Garth Tander 1892
7 Shane Van Gisbergen 1800
8 Jamie Whincup 1688
9 Scott McLaughlin 1434
10 Rick Kelly 1415
11 James Courtney 1373
12 Tim Slade 1324
13 Michael Caruso 1318
14 Jason Bright 1317
15 Lee Holdsworth 1272
16 Will Davison 1219
17 Todd Kelly 1116
18 James Moffat 1106
19 Nick Percat 992
20 Dale Wood 929
21 Scott Pye 927
22 Andre Heimgartner 900
23 Tim Blanchard 861
24 David Wall 774
25 Ash Walsh 645
26 Jack Perkins 432
27 Steve Owen 300
28 Cameron Waters 276
29 Marcos Ambrose 263
30 Jonathon Webb 258
31 Warren Luff 240
32 Dean Canto 222
33 Tony D’Alberto 204
34 Sebastien Bourdais 192
35 Karl Reindler 180
36 Russell Ingall 168
37 David Russell 156
38 Dean Fiore 144
39 Steven Richards 132
40 Alexandre Premat 126
41 Paul Dumbrell 120
42 Luke Youlden 114
43 Aaren Russell 108
44 Ant Pedersen 108
45 Taz Douglas 102
46 Jack Le Borcq 96
47 Macauley Jones 90
48 Simona De Silvestro 84
49 Chris Pither 84
50 Andrew Jones 78
51 Alex Davison 72
52 Alex Buncombe 66
53 Oliver Gavin 0

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]