David Reynolds scores pole for Bathurst 1000

David Reynolds and co-driver Dean Canto celebrate with The Bottle-O team

David Reynolds and co-driver Dean Canto celebrate with The Bottle-O team

David Reynolds emerged fastest from a wet Top 10 Shootout to score pole position for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

A heavy downpour prior to the session saw all 10 laps run in wet conditions.

The Bottle-O Ford was the third car on track, putting down a 2:27.82s to move ahead of early runners Lee Holdsworth and James Moffat.

Scott McLaughlin and Jason Bright then slotted into second and third respectively, with conditions noticeably worsening as the latter finished his lap.

That effectively locked in the top five, with subsequent runners Scott Pye, Jamie Whincup and Tim Slade all slotting in at the bottom of the order.

Shane van Gisbergen’s wet track heroics saw him post a time good enough for sixth, before provisional pole man Fabian Coulthard moved into ninth.

Reynolds’ pole turns around a tough weekend for himself and Prodrive, with the driver fined $25,000 for ‘comments prejudicial to the sport’ on Thursday before team-mate Chaz Mostert’s heavy crash yesterday.

“It’s pretty exciting,” beamed Reynolds when receiving the Armor All Pole Award.

“I might have got lucky with the conditions but I tried to put a good lap in. It was safe and it was fast.

“I don’t think I’d ever done a lap here in the wet before, so I just tried to stay off the white lines and the kerbs.

“We changed the set-up in terms of cambers and toe and went a bit softer on the rear spring to help (traction).”

All drivers managed to stay on course despite the conditions, although some, including Whincup, have been left to rethink wet set-ups before tomorrow.

“If it’s wet tomorrow we’re in a bit of trouble,” he said. “It’s good in the dry but not so much in the wet.

“I don’t know if we missed the mark with the pressures or we’re just a bit stiff (in the suspension).”

Result: V8 Supercars Top 10 Shootout, Mount Panorama

1 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 2:27.8201
2 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 2:28.9746 0:01.1545
3 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 2:29.7006 0:01.8805
4 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 2:29.8139 0:01.9938
5 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 2:30.0084 0:02.1883
6 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 2:30.8456 0:03.0255
7 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 2:31.6312 0:03.8111
8 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 2:32.0536 0:04.2335
9 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 2:32.1246 0:04.3045
10 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 2:34.7168 0:06.8967

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]