Whincup clocks 2:04s record in Practice 5

Jamie Whincup reset the practice record in Practice 5

Jamie Whincup reset the practice record in Practice 5

Jamie Whincup became the first V8 Supercars driver to lap Mount Panorama in the 2:04s bracket ahead of this afternoon’s qualifying.

The Red Bull Holden’s time came as the chequered flag waved on the 45 minute fifth practice session of the weekend.

Whincup’s record stole DJR Team Penske’s thunder after Scott Pye had been the first to break Fabian Coulthard’s Thursday benchmark with 2:05.2s seven minutes from the end.

Jason Bright, Mark Winterbottom, Coulthard, Shane van Gisbergen, David Reynolds and Garth Tander were also in the 2:05s as they filled third through eighth.

“We’re just going about our job trying to make the buggy as quick as possible,” said Whincup after his lap.

“We won’t get too carried away with practice, obviously it’s a cool number to come up on the dash, but no doubt there’s going to be big improvements for qualy later on this afternoon.

“There’s plenty of temp at the moment that should cool down over the weekend. It’s all about having the right car at the right time and the engineers did a pretty good job then.”

Although encouraged by his own team’s progress, Pye could only pay respect to Whincup for his efforts.

“We’ve worked on the car over the weekend and made some changes that have worked well,” he said.

“I was pumped to do a 5.2, but full respect to Jamie. It’s a balls-out track and he put his balls to the wall that’s for sure.”

The primary drivers undertook the bulk of the running in the session as they worked on set-ups ahead of qualifying.

Pole position favourite Chaz Mostert ended up just 18th as he battled oversteer in his Prodrive Ford.

The session ran green for its duration despite early trouble for Tim Blanchard – whose car suffered electrical problems – and Andre Heimgartner, who visited the gravel at Murray’s Corner.

Qualifying will take place from 1550 this afternoon, with a Top 10 Shootout to follow tomorrow evening.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 5, Mount Panorama  

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 2:04.9097R
2 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.2436r 00.3339
3 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 2:05.5376 00.6279
4 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.6485 00.7388
5 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 2:05.6516 00.7419
6 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 2:05.7831 00.8734
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.9401 01.0304
8 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 2:05.9443 01.0346
9 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 2:05.9593 01.0496
10 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 2:06.0887 01.1790
11 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 2:06.1270 01.2173
12 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 2:06.3173 01.4076
13 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 2:06.3528 01.4431
14 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 2:06.3539 01.4442
15 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 2:06.3914 01.4817
16 Holden Racing Team Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 2:06.4925 01.5828
17 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 2:06.6136 01.7039
18 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 2:06.6311 01.7214
19 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 2:06.7570 01.8473
20 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 2:06.7778 01.8681
21 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 2:06.8757 01.9660
22 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 2:07.1626 02.2529
23 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 2:07.1825 02.2728
24 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 2:07.5007 02.5910
25 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 2:08.5395 03.6298
26 Harvey Norman Supergirls Simona De Silvestro Ford Falcon FG/X 2:08.9671 04.0574
27 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 2:09.3087 04.3990

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]