Russell wins Carrera Cup opener

Russell took his first win of 2015 in the Carrera Cup

Russell took his first win of 2015 in the Carrera Cup

David Russell has taken advantage of a re-start to win the opening race of the Carrera Cup at Mount Panorama.

After pole-sitter Matt Campbell streaked away from the start, a mid-race safety car bunched the field after James Bergmuller and then Scott Taylor went off at the Chase on lap #4 of #10.

The re-start on lap #7 saw Campbell run wide at Hell Corner and Russell out dragged him up Mountain Straight.

A similar move was done by championship leader Nick Foster who moved to third ahead of defending champion Steven Richards.

Campbell tried to fight back in the close stages, but Russell was unfazed and took his first race win of the year in the Porsche series.

After smashing his 911 in qualifying, Shane Smollen repaid his crew with victory in the Tag Heuer Carrera Challenge from Tony Bates and Stephen Grove.

Race #2 of the Carrera Cup at Bathurst will be tomorrow at 4.25pm.

VIDEO: David Russell and Shane Smollen speak after Race 1

RACE 1 : Carrera Cup – Bathurst

Pos No. Driver Team Class
1 10 David Russell Finanze Ezi P
2 7 Matt Campbell Phase 8 P
3 777 Nick Foster Bob Jane T-Marts P
4 1 Steven Richards Laser Plumbing & Electrical P
5 8 Craig Baird Porsche Centre Melbourne P
6 77 Nick McBride Bob Jane T-Marts P
7 26 Michael Almond Copyworld P
8 22 Richard Muscat Wilson Security / PAYCE / Geni P
9 45 Duvashen Padayachee Darrell Lea STIX P
10 65 Fraser Ross Porsche Centre Brighton P
11 25 John Martin Copyworld P
12 56 Shane Smollen McGrath Estate Agents C
13 24 Tony Bates AFS/Fleetguard C
14 4 Stephen Grove Grove Motorsport C
15 Tony Walls McElrea Racing C
16 6 Ash Samadi Apartment Hotel C
17 9 Marc Cini Hallmarc C
18 39 Adrian Mastronardo Veritas C
19 69 Brenton Griguol Koala Car Rentals C
DNF 222 Scott Taylor Scott Taylor Motorsport C
DNF 13 James Bergmuller MotorOne Car Care C

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]