Dumbrell impresses in opening Dunlop practice

Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell set a blistering pace to top the times in the opening Dunlop Series practice session of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 weekend.

The Eggleston Motorsport driver was quick from the outset to head the timesheets with a 2:11.0s after his first run, before lowering his personal best to an impressive 2:08.14s late in the session.

Dumbrell’s effort was more than two seconds quicker than the fastest time set in opening practice last year.

After dominating the hit out, the Red Bull Racing Australia V8 Supercars co-driver was 0.2s quicker than MW Motorsport’s Chris Pither.

Brad Jones Racing’s Andrew Jones enjoyed a solid run to finish in third spot a tenth further back.

Series leader Cameron Waters in the Prodrive Racing Ford was fourth fastest 0.4s adrift of Dumbrell.

Eggleston Motorsport duo of Ant Pedersen and Garry Jacobson were fifth and sixth respectively, although the latter had smoke bellowing from the rear of his Commodore during the session.

Dan Day suffered a spin at The Chase

Dan Day suffered a spin at The Chase

Jack Le Brocq, Todd Hazelwood, Josh Kean and Macauley Jones rounded out the top 10.

Television presenter Grant Denyer finished in 13th spot on his return to the category, while debutant Liam McAdam was 18th.

The action was halted after just five minutes when Dan Day lost control of his Image Racing Falcon at The Chase, which brought out the red flags.

The South Australian dropped a wheel on the dirt which fired him across the track and into the gravel trap narrowly avoiding Aaron McGill.

Luckily Day was able to rejoin the session once his car was retrieved.

Result Dunlop Series Practice 1, Mount Panorama

1 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.14
2 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG 2:08.51 0:00.3723
3 Alliance Truck Parts Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.58 0:00.4427
4 Team ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 2:08.69 0:00.5553
5 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.81 0:01.6715
6 iSeek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 2:09.89 0:01.7537
7 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 2:10.08 0:01.9372
8 MW Motorsport Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 2:10.12 0:01.9771
9 Alphabet / Wynns Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 2:10.18 0:02.0391
10 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 2:10.51 0:02.3680
11 Paul Morris Motorsport Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 2:10.89 0:02.7502
12 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 2:10.94 0:02.7973
13 Hayman Reese Racing Grant Denyer Ford Falcon FG 2:11.55 0:03.4088
14 Middy’s Data & Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VE 2:12.03 0:03.8939
15 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG 2:12.04 0:03.8967
16 Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2 2:12.06 0:03.9170
17 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go A.Russell/D.Russell Ford Falcon FG 2:12.19 0:04.0507
18 Eggleston Motorsport Liam McAdams Holden Commodore VE2 2:12.73 0:04.5922
19 Street Fighter Performance Upg Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 2:12.99 0:04.8504
20 Cavalier Homes / EMA Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 2:13.08 0:04.9368
21 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 2:15.20 0:07.0617
22 Battery World Racing A.McGill/M.Caine Holden Commodore VE2 2:15.31 0:07.1697
23 Pacific Hoists / Simplex Phil Woodbury Holden Commodore VE2 2:16.44 0:08.3049

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]