Heavy rain cancels Dover qualifying

Nothing but rain at 'The Monster Mile'

Nothing but rain at ‘The Monster Mile’

Matt Kenseth will start from pole position at Dover without even turning a wheel as all of Friday’s track activities were cancelled due to weather.

The starting positions are set on championship positions.

A massive storm cell that is part of Hurricane Joaquin in the Atlantic Ocean has thrown all US sport on the eastern seaboard into chaos as rain lashed Dover International Speedway.

With all but two events in the NASCAR schedule running on oval tracks, any rain means that no running can take place. With conditions set-in for the coming days a real possibility is that the race could be further postponed. Some suggesting is that it could run after next week’s event at Charlotte.

This would have major implications on the Chase for the Sprint Cup, as the bottom four drivers in the top-16 in points were to be eliminated after the first three races of what is known as the ‘Challenger Round’. Amongst those is defending champion Kevin Harvick.

The NASCAR rule book states that four drivers will be eliminated from the postseason after the 29th race of the season. If Dover were to get postponed, and if the scheduled October 10 race at Charlotte Motor Speedway takes place as scheduled, then the Charlotte event would be the 29th race of the season and therefore act as the final race of the Challenger Round.

STARTING LINE-UP: AAA 400 – Dover International Speedway

1 20 Matt Kenseth Toyota Dollar General
2 11 Denny Hamlin Toyota FedEx Office
3 19 Carl Edwards Toyota Arris
4 22 Joey Logano Ford Shell Pennzoil
5 48 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet Lowe’s
6 31 Ryan Newman Chevrolet Quicken Loans
7 41 Kurt Busch Chevrolet Haas Automation
8 2 Brad Keselowski Ford Wurth
9 78 Martin Truex Jr Chevrolet Furniture Row/Visser Precision
10 24 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet AARP MEMBER ADVANTAGES
11 1 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet Nature Made
12 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr Chevrolet NATIONWIDE Plenti
13 18 Kyle Busch Toyota Interstate Batteries
14 27 Paul Menard Chevrolet Knauf / Menards
15 4 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet Budweiser / Jimmy John’s
16 15 Clint Bowyer Toyota 5-Hour Energy
17 5 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet HendrickRideAlong.com
18 43 Aric Almirola Ford Nathans Famous
19 42 Kyle Larson Chevrolet Target Plaid
20 16 Greg Biffle Ford Ortho Ford Fusion
21 3 Austin Dillon Chevrolet Dow
22 13 Casey Mears Chevrolet No. 13 GEICO Chevrolet SS
23 47 AJ Allmendinger Chevrolet Hungry Jack
24 10 Danica Patrick Chevrolet GoDaddy
25 14 Tony Stewart Chevrolet Mobil 1 / Bass Pro Shops
26 9 Sam Hornish Jr Ford SlimFast
27 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr Ford Fastenal Ford Fusion
28 55 David Ragan Toyota Aaron’s Online Dream Machine
29 6 Trevor Bayne Ford Advocare Ford Fusion
30 51 Justin Allgaier Chevrolet Fraternal Order of Eagles
31 35 Cole Whitt Ford Dockside/Rinnai Tankless Water Heaters
32 38 David Gilliland Ford MDS Transportation
33 40 Landon Cassill Chevrolet CRC Brakleeh
34 34 Brett Moffitt Ford CSX Play It Safe
35 7 Alex Bowman Chevrolet Tommy Baldwin Racing Chevrolet
36 33 Alex Kennedy Chevrolet TBA
37 83 Matt DiBenedetto Toyota Cosmo
38 46 Michael Annett Chevrolet Pilot Flying J
39 23 Jeb Burton Toyota Dr. Pepper/Estes
40 98 Reed Sorenson Ford Premium Motorsports
42 26 J.J. Yeley Toyota Maxim Fantasy
43 62 Timmy Hill Chevrolet Premium Motorsports

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]