Lorenzo wins as Marquez crashes again

Jorge Lorenzo scored his sixth win of the season

Jorge Lorenzo scored his sixth win of the season

Jorge Lorenzo scored a dominant victory in the Aragon MotoGP following an early crash for pole-sitter Marc Marquez.

The Yamaha rider took the lead on the opening lap and was left untroubled at the front after a lap two fall for his compatriot.

Marquez was visibly furious after losing the front-end of his Honda through Turn 12 and sliding into retirement while chasing Lorenzo.

Lorenzo maintained his concentration thereafter, eventually recording a 2.7s win.

“My strategy was to ride at the maximum, which worked well because I think Marquez was at the limit to follow me,” he said.

“I didn’t expect his crash and when I saw on my board his crash I breathed easier.”

Dani Pedrosa and Valentino Rossi put on an entertaining scrap for second place that raged until the chequered flag.

The duo swapped places four times on the final lap alone, with Pedrosa securing the runner-up spot by just 0.09s.

Pedrosa’s efforts ensured Lorenzo clawed nine points from his team-mate’s championship lead, leaving the margin at 14 with four rounds remaining.

“It was really hard to focus on keeping the lap time and also closing the doors, because in many corners Vale was faster,” smiled Pedrosa.

“I knew in the last laps I had a little bit less grip because I could hear his engine all the time on the exit.

“I don’t know how many times we overtook each other but it was nice to arrive second in front of all the fans.”

Rossi embraced his rival in parc ferme post-race before declaring third a strong result considering his lack of pace throughout the practice and qualifying sessions.

“I tried everything but Dani was able to overtake me both times in the next corner,” he said of the last lap battle.

“I’m happy because compared to the practice I had a good race, but I needed those points. Today it was not possible.”

Front-row starter Andrea Iannone was more than 20s adrift of the winner in fourth place on his Ducati, while team-mate Andrea Dovizioso completed the top five.

Aleix Espargaro, Cal Crutchlow, Bradley Smith, Pol Espargaro, and Yonny Hernandez filled sixth through 10th, while Australian Jack Miller was 19th.

Result: MotoGP Grand Prix of Aragon, Motorland Aragon

Position Rider Bike Laps Time/Gap
1 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 23
2 Dani Pedrosa Honda 23 +2.683s
3 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 23 +2.773s
4 Andrea Iannone Ducati 23 +7.858s
5 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 23 +24.322s
6 Aleix Espargaró Suzuki 23 +24.829s
7 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 23 +25.367s
8 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 23 +25.503s
9 Pol Espargaró Tech 3 Yamaha 23 +26.452s
10 Yonny Hernández Pramac Ducati 23 +43.889s
11 Maverick Viñales Suzuki 23 +44.255s
12 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda 23 +48.176s
13 Álvaro Bautista Aprilia Gresini 23 +49.755s
14 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 23 +50.271s
15 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 23 +50.364s
16 Héctor Barberá Avintia Ducati 23 +50.722s
17 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha 23 +51.997s
18 Stefan Bradl Aprilia Gresini 23 +53.406s
19 Jack Miller LCR Honda 23 +56.859s
20 Mike Di Meglio Ducati 23 +59.607s
21 Toni Elías Yamaha Forward 23 1:15.237
DNF Karel Abraham Honda 11 Retirement
DNF Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati 9 Retirement
DNF Alex de Angelis ART/Aprilia 5 Retirement
DNF Marc Márquez Honda 1 Retirement

Championship Standings

Position Rider Points
1 Valentino Rossi 263
2 Jorge Lorenzo 249
3 Marc Marquez 184
4 Andrea Iannone 172
5 Bradley Smith 143
6 Andrea Dovizioso 139
7 Dani Pedrosa 129
8 Danilo Petrucci 93
9 Cal Crutchlow 88
10 Pol Espargaro 88
11 Aleix Espargaro 76
12 Maverick Vinales 74
13 Scott Redding 67
14 Yonny Hernandez 47
15 Loris Baz 28
16 Alvaro Bautista 26
17 Hector Babera 23
18 Jack Miller 16
19 Nicky Hayden 13
20 Stefan Bradl 11
21 Eugene Laverty 9
22 Michele Pirro 8
23 Mike Di Meglio 7
24 Hiroshi Aoyama 5
25 Alex De Angelis

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]