IndyCar teams set for Road America test

Scott Dixon set for Road America test with nine other IndyCar drivers

Scott Dixon set for Road America test with nine other IndyCar drivers

Five IndyCar teams comprising 10 drivers will take part in a scheduled test at the Road America course in Elkhart Lake on Tuesday morning local time.

Chip Ganassi. AJ Foyt, CFH Racing, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing and Team Penske will each field drivers at the test.

The single-day test comes as the celebrated road circuit rejoins IndyCar competition next season after being absent from the schedule since 2007.

Ganassi’s Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan and Charlie Kimball are set to cut laps while AJ Foyt driver Takuma Sato, CFH Racing’s Josef Newgarden, Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan), and the full roster of Team Penske drivers – Will Power, Helio Castroneves, Juan Montoya and Simon Pagenaud will also be in action.

Three weeks after clinching a fourth IndyCar crown, Kiwi Dixon is looking forward to the test.

“I’m excited to go back. It’s one of the old-school American tracks that reminds me a little bit of Watkins Glen with the style of racing,” Dixon said.

“We’ll work through a lot of things so when we come back next year we’ll be prepared to challenge for the win.”

The test will run from 9.30am to 5pm (local time) which is open to the public for a $20 admission fee, of which $10 of each ticket sold will be donated to the Wilson Children’s Fund to benefit the family of the late Justin Wilson.

The Road America round is scheduled for June 24-26 next year with less than half the field having race at the Wisconsin circuit previously.


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]