Whincup leads the way in Sandown warm-up

Jamie Whincup led the way in the morning warm-up

Jamie Whincup led the way in the morning warm-up

Pole-sitter Jamie Whincup completed preparations for the Wilson Security Sandown 500 by topping the morning warm-up.

The Red Bull driver ran a best of 1:08.93s in the early stages of the 20 minute session that remained at the top of the order until the end.

Whincup completed the bulk of the driving as the team evaluated overnight set-up changes aimed at matching the outright speed of Prodrive’s Fords.

Co-driver Paul Dumbrell completed the final two minutes prior to the chequered flag, allowing the team to practice a full driver, fuel, tyres and brake pads pitstop simulation.

Mark Winterbottom let co-driver Steve Owen undertake the early running in the #5 Ford before jumping in and going second fastest.

The Lee Holdsworth/Sebastien Bourdais Holden ended up third thanks to an early time from the Australian, who promptly handed over to the IndyCar star.

Tekno’s Shane van Gisbergen/Jonathon Webb Holden and the Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat Volvo completed the top five.

The session included the second red flag of the weekend. As was the case on Saturday morning, the stoppage was caused by an off from Dale Wood, this time at Turn 9.

Andre Heimgartner’s Ford and Jack Perkins’ Holden returned to the track following their big hit in the primary driver sprint on Saturday.

Heimgartner endured an early off at Turn 1, but reported no repeat of the right-front brake caliper leak that caused the crash on Saturday.

“It’s definitely nice having brakes this morning,” he said after ending up 24th.

“I’m just getting my confidence back up and trying to tune the car. We’ve been struggling with it all weekend.”

The Wilson Security Sandown 500 will kick-off at 1325 local time.

Result: V8 Supercars Wilson Security Sandown 500 Warm-up

1 Red Bull Racing Australia J.Whincup/P.Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 1:08.9283
2 Pepsi Max Crew M.Winterbottom/S.Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 1:08.9572 00.0289
3 Walkinshaw Racing L.Holdsworth/S.Bourdais Holden Commodore VF 1:09.0831 00.1548
4 Team Darrell Lea STIX S.Van Gisbergen/J.Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:09.2399 00.3116
5 Wilson Security Racing GRM S.McLaughlin/A.Premat Volvo S60 1:09.2543 00.3260
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team D.Reynolds/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.2561 00.3278
7 Erebus Motorsport V8 W.Davison/A.Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:09.3296 00.4013
8 DJR Team Penske S.Pye/M.Ambrose Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.4032 00.4749
9 Holden Racing Team J.Perkins/R.Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:09.4050 00.4767
10 Erebus Motorsport V8 A.Walsh/J.Le Brocq Mercedes E63 AMG 1:09.4144 00.4861
11 Red Bull Racing Australia C.Lowndes/S.Richards Holden Commodore VF 1:09.4684 00.5401
12 Freightliner Racing F.Coulthard/L.Youlden Holden Commodore VF 1:09.4815 00.5532
13 Nissan Motorsport J.Moffat/T.Douglas Nissan Altima 1:09.6127 00.6844
14 Nissan Motorsport M.Caruso/D.Fiore Nissan Altima 1:09.6555 00.7272
15 Pepsi Max Crew C.Mostert/C.Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.6752 00.7469
16 Supercheap Auto Racing T.Slade/T.D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:09.6800 00.7517
17 Team Cooldrive T.Blanchard/K.Reindler Holden Commodore VF 1:09.7781 00.8498
18 Repair Management Aust Racing N.Percat/O.Gavin Holden Commodore VF 1:09.8345 00.9062
19 Wilson Security Racing GRM D.Wall/C.Pither Volvo S60 1:09.8452 00.9169
20 Nissan Motorsport R.Kelly/D.Russell Nissan Altima 1:09.8592 00.9309
21 Team BOC J.Bright/A.Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:09.9992 01.0709
22 Nissan Motorsport T.Kelly/A.Buncombe Nissan Altima 1:10.0663 01.1380
23 Holden Racing Team G.Tander/W.Luff Holden Commodore VF 1:10.0698 01.1415
24 Super Black Racing A.Heimgartner/A.Pedersen Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.0816 01.1533
25 GB Galvanizing Racing D.Wood/M.Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:10.2851 01.3568

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]