McLeod scoops maiden V8 Utes round win

Gerard McLeod leads the Utes field

Gerard McLeod leads the Utes field

Gerard McLeod claimed his maiden V8 Utes round win with a lights-to-flag victory in the final race of the Sandown 500 weekend.

The Victorian was never headed in a hotly contested encounter as he fended off Andrew Fisher in a race long tussle.

McLeod’s hopes were dented when the Safety Car was deploy midway through the race to recover Ben Grice, who was punted into the Turn 9 gravel trap by Jeremy Gray.

Despite the interruption, McLeod judged the restart to perfection to retain his lead over Fisher which he maintained to the chequered flag.

Championship leader Ryal Harris held third for the majority of the race, but the Gold Coast driver lost the position to George Miedecke shortly after the restart.

Harris tried to fight back but Miedecke went on to secure the final spot on the podium.

Nathan Pretty edged Ryan Hansford to fifth while Craig Dontas, Race 1 winner Kris Walton, David Sieders and Adam Beechey completed the top 10.

Dunlop Series regular Todd Hazelwood ended his Utes debut on a positive note with a 12th place finish.

However, there was drama for title contender Adam Marjoram as a mechanical issue saw him come home in a lowly 23rd position.

McLeod and Fisher finished the meeting tied on points but the former’s victory in the final race gave him the round win.

The V8 Utes return to action at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 from October 8-11.

Result: V8 Utes Racing Series Race 3, Sandown 

1 RYCO 24-7 / ABC Towing Gerard McLeod (Vic) Holden Commodore VE 10 15:17.0341
2 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher (NSW) Ford Falcon FG 10 15:17.3587
3 iSeek Racing / ees George Miedecke (NSW) Ford Falcon FG 10 15:17.7836
4 Holiday For Life Ryal Harris (Qld) Ford Falcon FG 10 15:18.1525
5 Burbank Racing Nathan Pretty (Vic) Holden Commodore VE 10 15:19.6683
6 Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford (Qld) Ford Falcon FG 10 15:20.3690
7 JustCar Insurance/KittenRacing Craig Dontas (SA) Holden Commodore VE 10 15:21.0051
8 Rentco Racing Kris Walton (Qld) Ford Falcon FG 10 15:21.2921
9 Mango Credit David Sieders (NSW) Holden Commodore VE 10 15:22.2527
10 Team Kleen Racing /Kleen Group Adam Beechey (Tas) Holden Commodore VE 10 15:23.4879
11 BobJaneT-Marts/AlfenzoTyres/Sh Kim Jane (Vic) Holden Commodore VE 10 15:23.8376
12 All Purpose Pest Control Todd Hazelwood (SA) Ford Falcon FG 10 15:23.9905
13 Slideways/ GoKarting Australia Cam Wilson (Qld) Ford  Falcon FG 10 15:27.0522
14 JMG Racing Jeremy Gray (NSW) Ford Falcon FG 10 15:27.3764
15 Western General Body Works Danny Buzadzic (Vic) Ford Falcon FG 10 15:27.8350
16 Skyreack / Shamick Racing Leigh Nicolaou (Vic) Holden Commodore VE 10 15:27.8367
17 Cetnaj Electrical Supplies Peter Burnitt (Qld) Ford Falcon FG 10 15:28.5766
18 Nandi Kiss Racing Nandi Kiss (NSW) Holden Commodore VE 10 15:28.7862
19 OAKLANDS BUILT Bruce Oaklands (NSW) Ford Falcon FG 10 15:35.3433
20 Gulf Western Oil / EFI Spares Richard Mork (NSW) Ford Falcon FG 10 15:36.5135
21 RED Express / AirRoad Charlie Kovacs (SA) Holden Commodore VE 10 15:50.9152
22 GlenmoreParkPlumbing/HindeTran Ben Grice (Qld) Holden Commodore VE  9 15:29.6249
23 Auto One / Erebus Motorsport Adam Marjoram (WA) Holden Commodore VE  9 15:49.3923
DNF Australian Conveyor Racing Noel Edge (SA) Ford Falcon FG  3  4:31.1113



Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]