Whincup/Dumbrell secure Sandown 500 pole

Whincup held off the Prodrive Fords in the second qualifying sprint

Whincup held off the Prodrive Fords in the second qualifying sprint

Jamie Whincup survived a one lap shootout at the end of the second qualifying race to secure pole position for the Wilson Security Sandown 500.

A crash for Andre Heimgartner and Jack Perkins set-up the single lap sprint to the flag, which saw Whincup hold off the advances of eventual second place finisher Mark Winterbottom.

Whincup had started from pole, bumping fellow front-row starter Winterbottom wide after locking up on the way into Turn 1.

The Red Bull Holden driver held the lead for the remainder of the 20 laps, despite heavy pressure from the chasing Fords of Winterbottom and Chaz Mostert.

In the end, Winterbottom ran wide at Turn 1 on the restart, ending his hopes of a late attack for the win.

The mistake allowed Chaz Mostert to move to the outside into Turn 2 but, after side-to-side contact with Winterbottom, the #6 Falcon ran through the grass and had to settle for third.

Shane van Gisbergen and David Reynolds were also in the train behind Whincup throughout the race on the way to fourth and fifth respectively.

Tim Slade, Lee Holdsworth, Will Davison, Fabian Coulthard and Nick Percat completed the top 10, with Scott Pye in 11th position.

The hardest luck story was Perkins, who ran sixth early before being punted wide at Turn 9 by Craig Lowndes, who soon received a drive-through penalty.

A brake problem for Andre Heimgartner later sent the Super Black Ford into a spin at Turn 6, resulting in heavy contact with Perkins who had no way to avoid the out of control Kiwi.

Result: V8 Supercars Wilson Security Sandown 500 Qualifying Race 2

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 20 24:35.3103
2 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 20 24:36.1160
3 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 20 24:36.4648
4 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 20 24:37.1103
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 20 24:37.4740
6 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 20 24:37.6642
7 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 20 24:38.1888
8 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 20 24:38.6087
9 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 20 24:38.7853
10 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 20 24:39.2298
11 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 20 24:39.7108
12 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 20 24:40.0485
13 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 20 24:40.6715
14 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 20 24:41.0339
15 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 20 24:41.4174
16 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 20 24:42.0299
17 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 20 24:43.1941
18 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 20 24:43.9586
19 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 20 24:44.2296
20 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 20 24:44.3915
21 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 20 24:44.5810
22 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 20 24:45.0234
23 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 20 24:45.9966
DNF Holden Racing Team Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 18 21:49.7020
DNF Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 16 19:04.7671

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]