Prodrive underlines authority ahead of qualifying

The Mark Winterbottom/Steve Owen Falcon

The Mark Winterbottom/Steve Owen Falcon

Prodrive’s Pepsi Max Fords continued to set the pace at Sandown in the final practice session prior to qualifying.

Mark Winterbottom waited until moments after the chequered flag to put down the 40 minute session’s fastest time of 1:08.87s.

The last gasp effort edged team-mate Chaz Mostert by 0.05s as new tyres for all of the front-runners provided a form guide for qualifying.

Jamie Whincup ended up third having become the first into the 1:08s with just over 10 minutes remaining.

The Red Bull driver did not improve in the closing stages, but was still quick enough to end up within 0.1s of the pace-setting Falcon.

Late efforts from Scott Pye and Jack Perkins saw the DJR Team Penske Falcon and Holden Racing Team Commodore complete the top five.

David Reynolds, Shane van Gisbergen, Scott McLaughlin, Lee Holdsworth and Fabian Coulthard filled sixth through 10th.

Primary drivers undertook the bulk of the duties as they worked on set-ups ahead of the 20 minute qualifying session.

As was the case on Friday, windy conditions continued to challenge the drivers, particularly into Turn 1.

Dale Wood brought out the red flags in the early minutes when a lock-up at Turn 1 ended with the #21 Commodore nudging the tyre wall.

The GB Galvanizing entry was in more trouble later on, running through the Turn 9 gravel before rejoining unscathed.

Result: V8 Supercars Wilson Security Sandown 500, Practice 4

1 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:08.8740
2 Pepsi Max Crew C.Mostert/C.Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:08.9248 00.0508
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:08.9681 00.0941
4 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.0285 00.1545
5 Holden Racing Team J.Perkins/R.Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:09.1830 00.3090
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.1884 00.3144
7 Team Darrell Lea STIX S.Van Gisbergen/J.Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:09.2557 00.3817
8 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:09.2738 00.3998
9 Walkinshaw Racing L.Holdsworth/S.Bourdais Holden Commodore VF 1:09.2936 00.4196
10 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:09.2992 00.4252
11 Holden Racing Team G.Tander/W.Luff Holden Commodore VF 1:09.3934 00.5194
12 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:09.4517 00.5777
13 Red Bull Racing Australia C.Lowndes/S.Richards Holden Commodore VF 1:09.4741 00.6001
14 Nissan Motorsport J.Moffat/T.Douglas Nissan Altima 1:09.4793 00.6053
15 Wilson Security Racing GRM D.Wall/C.Pither Volvo S60 1:09.5163 00.6423
16 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:09.5935 00.7195
17 Erebus Motorsport V8 W.Davison/A.Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:09.5944 00.7204
18 Nissan Motorsport R.Kelly/D.Russell Nissan Altima 1:09.6589 00.7849
19 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.6856 00.8116
20 Nissan Motorsport T.Kelly/A.Buncombe Nissan Altima 1:09.7233 00.8493
21 Erebus Motorsport V8 A.Walsh/J.Le Brocq Mercedes E63 AMG 1:09.8098 00.9358
22 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:09.8439 00.9699
23 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:09.9765 01.1025
24 Nissan Motorsport M.Caruso/D.Fiore Nissan Altima 1:09.9820 01.1080
25 Repair Management Aust Racing N.Percat/O.Gavin Holden Commodore VF 1:10.0847 01.2107

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]