Dumbrell dominates action packed co-driver race

Paul Dumbrell takes the lead from Steve Owen

Paul Dumbrell takes the lead from Steve Owen

Paul Dumbrell has given Jamie Whincup’s new Red Bull Holden the perfect debut, scoring victory in a chaotic qualifying heat at Sandown.

Starting third, it took just over a lap for Dumbrell to find his way by both Pepsi Max Prodrive Fords.

Pole-sitter Cameron Waters led the opening corners before a left-front lock-up into Turn 9 saw the #6 Falcon run wide, dropping places to Steve Owen, Dumbrell and Jonathon Webb.

Dumbrell then cut past Owen at Turn 1 on the second lap before clearing out to record a 7.2s win at the end of the 20 laps.

The results hands pole position to Whincup for the afternoon’s second heat, with second for Owen ensuring Mark Winterbottom the outside of the front-row.

“A few guys had a scuffle so I thought I’d get out front and get the hell out of there,” smiled Dumbrell afterward.

Waters came home third ahead of Canto and Jonathon Webb, who lost places to both Fords with off track excursions, the second of which occurred on the final lap.

Returning veteran Russell Ingall carved from 12th on the grid to sixth on lap one, which he then held to the chequered flag.

Tony D’Alberto, Marcos Ambrose, Luke Youlden and Karl Reindler completed the top 10, with Sebastien Bourdais 11th.

The Frenchman started fourth but was bumped wide at Turn 1 by Webb, before copping a further shove from Ambrose, who in turn had been nudged by Canto. Miraculously, all avoided spinning in the melee.

Alex Buncombe spun Chris Pither at Turn 9 on lap two, before the second Volvo of Alexandre Premat turned Andrew Jones around at the same corner five laps later.

Radiator damage took Jones out of the race. He was soon joined on the sidelines by David Russell, who pitted with damaged suspension after two off-track excursions.

The primary drivers will take to the track for the second qualifying race at 1610, setting the grid for Sunday’s Sandown 500.

Bourdais and Ambrose in trouble at Turn 1

Bourdais and Ambrose in trouble at Turn 1

Result: V8 Supercars Wilson Security Sandown 500, Qualifying Race 1 

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 20 23:26.4669
2 Pepsi Max Crew Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 20 23:33.5885
3 Pepsi Max Crew Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 20 23:36.2732
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 20 23:37.4506
5 Team Darrell Lea STIX Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 20 23:38.9759
6 Holden Racing Team Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 20 23:40.0590
7 Supercheap Auto Racing Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 20 23:41.9204
8 DJR Team Penske Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon FG/X 20 23:42.2860
9 Freightliner Racing Luke Youlden Holden Commodore VF 20 23:45.6976
10 Team Cooldrive Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VF 20 23:47.1630
11 Walkinshaw Racing Sebastien Bourdais Holden Commodore VF 20 23:51.1140
12 Red Bull Racing Australia Steven Richards Holden Commodore VF 20 23:51.9081
13 Erebus Motorsport V8 Alex Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 20 23:55.8500
14 Repair Management Aust Racing Oliver Gavin Holden Commodore VF 20 23:57.2421
15 Super Black Racing Ant Pedersen Ford Falcon FG/X 20 23:59.5881
16 Holden Racing Team Warren Luff Holden Commodore VF 20 24:00.7339
17 Nissan Motorsport Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 20 24:02.0605
18 Erebus Motorsport V8 Jack Le Brocq Mercedes E63 AMG 20 24:02.7677
19 GB Galvanizing Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 20 24:07.2361
20 Nissan Motorsport Taz Douglas Nissan Altima 20 24:07.4238
21 Nissan Motorsport Alex Buncombe Nissan Altima 20 24:07.4277
22 Wilson Security Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Volvo S60 20 24:07.8872
23 Wilson Security Racing GRM Chris Pither Volvo S60 20 24:08.8996
DNF Nissan Motorsport David Russell Nissan Altima 12 14:42.7547
DNF Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF  6  7:11.4010

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]