Whincup edges Fords in first Sandown practice

Jamie Whincup set the fastest time in first practice

Jamie Whincup set the fastest time in first practice

Jamie Whincup pipped a quartet of Fords to end opening practice for the Sandown 500 at the top of the order.

The Red Bull Holden’s best of 1:09.52s came in the dying seconds of the 30 minute hit-out, proving 0.1s quicker than Chaz Mostert in the leading Prodrive Falcon.

Whincup’s new car showed no signs of the vibration issue that halted its recent test at Queensland Raceway.

“The guys and girls have done a great job and there’s no vibration, so now we can focus on going fast,” said Whincup.

“The session was promising but we’ve got to keep our heads down and put our best foot forward for the rest of the weekend.”

The Fords of Mark Winterbottom, David Reynolds and Scott Pye completed the top five, having all spent time at in the top spot during the session.

Shane van Gisbergen, Nick Percat, Scott McLaughlin, Jason Bright and Todd Kelly completed the top 10.

The fastest time proved 0.3s adrift of Whincup’s best from the opening Sandown session last year, despite the implementation of a new final drive ratio that allows a higher top speed on the back straight.

Several drivers, including Whincup, endured off-track excursions at Turn 1, while Fabian Coulthard and James Moffat both suffered harmless spins at Turn 4.

Reynolds meanwhile completed the session with a caved in bonnet on the The Bottle-O Ford in a repeat of the issues seen with the FG Xs at the pre-season test.

The Nissans of Michael Caruso and Rick Kelly, which are both running Nissan’s new engine for the first time today, ended the run a the bottom of the time sheets.

The primary drivers spent the entire first session in the cars, with both of this afternoon’s 30 minute runs for co-drivers only.

Result: V8 Supercars Wilson Security Sandown 500 Practice 1

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:09.5169
2 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.6177 0:00.1008
3 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.7873 0:00.2704
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.8615 0:00.3446
5 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.8624 0:00.3455
6 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:09.9844 0:00.4675
7 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:09.9939 0:00.4770
8 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:10.0053 0:00.4884
9 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:10.0510 0:00.5341
10 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:10.2355 0:00.7186
11 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:10.2511 0:00.7342
12 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:10.2514 0:00.7345
13 Holden Racing Team Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 1:10.2844 0:00.7675
14 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:10.3324 0:00.8155
15 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4133 0:00.8964
16 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4151 0:00.8982
17 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4188 0:00.9019
18 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4747 0:00.9578
19 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:10.4877 0:00.9708
20 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:10.5076 0:00.9907
21 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.5119 0:00.9950
22 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 1:10.5249 0:01.0080
23 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:10.5502 0:01.0333
24 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:10.6718 0:01.1549
25 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:10.6935 0:01.1766

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]