Walton sets new Utes lap record to secure pole

Kris Walton

Kris Walton

Kris Walton set a new Sandown lap record as he emerged from a closely contested V8 Utes Racing Series top 10 shootout with pole position.

The Rentco Racing Ford driver posted a 1:21.3051 effort to secure the pole by 0.2s from Kim Jane’s Holden Commodore.

Walton, who finished second in the opening qualifying session, had held the previous category lap record at the Melbourne circuit.

“The Rentco Ford is great, it came good at Townsville but the Commodores had it over us there, so it’s good to come here and get a pole again,” said Walton.

“This is where it started for me and I just love this place.”

One of the stories of the session belonged to Utes debutant Todd Hazelwood as he secured third spot on the grid.

The Dunlop Series regular had topped the first qualifying session before ending the top 10 shootout 0.4s shy of Walton.

“We went a tenth quicker in the shootout, I’m still really stoked with my result, to never drive on a new tyre and it’s my first time in the category, I’m rapt,” said Hazelwood.

Nathan Pretty will join Hazelwood on the second row in fourth ahead of championship contender Adam Marjoram and South Australia’s Craig Dontas.

Adam Beechey, George Miedecke, Ryal Harris and Cam Wilson completed the top 10.

Utes rookie Ben Grice endured a challenging day on his category debut as he was hit with a formal reprimand for a breach of race management communications.

The son of Australian touring car legend Allan Grice headed to the pit exit prior to instructions which has seen him issued with a $500 suspended fine until the end of the year.

The opening V8 Utes race of the weekend is scheduled to start at 1110 (local time) on Saturday morning.

Result: V8 Utes Racing Series Qualifying, Sandown

1 Rentco Racing Kris Walton (Qld) Ford Falcon FG T10 1:21.3051
2 BobJaneT-Marts/AlfenzoTyres Kim Jane (Vic) Holden Commodore VE T10 1:21.5855 00.2804
3 All Purpose Pest Control Todd Hazelwood (SA) Ford Falcon FG T10 1:21.7575 00.4524
4 Burbank Racing Nathan Pretty (Vic) Holden Commodore VE T10 1:21.7868 00.4817
5 Auto One / Erebus Motorsport Adam Marjoram (WA) Holden Commodore VE T10 1:21.9530 00.6479
6 JustCar Insurance/KittenRacing Craig Dontas (SA) Holden Commodore VE T10 1:22.0680 00.7629
7 Team Kleen Racing /Kleen Group Adam Beechey (Tas) Holden Commodore VE T10 1:22.2953 00.9902
8 iSeek Racing / ees George Miedecke (NSW) Ford Falcon FG T10 1:22.3389 01.0338
9 Holiday For Life Ryal Harris (Qld) Ford Falcon FG T10 1:22.4397 01.1346
10 Slideways/ GoKarting Australia Cam Wilson (Qld) Ford  Falcon FG T10 1:22.7556 01.4505
11 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher (NSW) Ford Falcon FG Q 1:22.4394 01.1343
12 JMG Racing Jeremy Gray (NSW) Ford Falcon FG Q 1:22.5254 01.2203
13 Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford (Qld) Ford Falcon FG Q 1:22.5946 01.2895
14 Mango Credit David Sieders (NSW) Holden Commodore VE Q 1:22.6116 01.3065
15 Peters Motorsport Mason Barbera (Qld) Ford Falcon FG Q 1:23.1989 01.8938
16 RYCO 24-7 / ABC Towing Gerard McLeod (Vic) Holden Commodore VE Q 1:23.6596 02.3545
17 Cetnaj Electrical Supplies Peter Burnitt (Qld) Ford Falcon FG Q 1:23.8642 02.5591
18 Skyreack / Shamick Racing Leigh Nicolaou (Vic) Holden Commodore VE Q 1:23.9116 02.6065
19 Western General Body Works Danny Buzadzic (Vic) Ford Falcon FG Q 1:24.1923 02.8872
20 Gulf Western Oil / EFI Spares Richard Mork (NSW) Ford Falcon FG Q 1:24.3392 03.0341
21 RED Express / AirRoad Charlie Kovacs (SA) Holden Commodore VE Q 1:24.6869 03.3818
22 OAKLANDS BUILT Bruce Oaklands (NSW) Ford Falcon FG Q 1:27.1317 05.8266
23 GlenmoreParkPlumbing/HindeTran Ben Grice (Qld) Holden Commodore VE Q 6:33.8376 12.5325
24 Australian Conveyor Racing Noel Edge (SA) Ford Falcon FG

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]