Falcons fly in Friday practice at Sandown

Steve Owen

Steve Owen

Steve Owen, Cameron Waters and Marcos Ambrose made it a Ford sweep at the top of the order in the final practice session of the day at Sandown.

Owen turned the tables on Practice 2 pace-setting team-mate Waters, edging his fellow Pepsi Max Crew co-driver by just 0.017s in the final 30 minute session.

A best of 1:09.69s for Owen left Jamie Whincup’s 1:09.52s from Practice 1 this morning as the fastest time of the day.

“It’s always good fun around here ragging it around and smashing the kerbs,” said Owen, who set his best time moments before the chequered flag.

“The car is solid and I think it particularly suits this circuit and the Gold Coast.”

Marcos Ambrose underlined DJR Team Penske’s improving form with a fine third in the final session, less than 0.15s adrift of Owen.

Alexandre Premat, Andrew Jones, Jonathon Webb, Steven Richards, Paul Dumbrell, Chris Pither and Dean Canto completed the top 10.

Russell Ingall was just one place further back in 11th aboard the #22 Holden Racing Team Commodore, proving the top co-driver among the four Walkinshaw Holdens.

Owen set the pace for the majority of the session before Webb, Dumbrell and Waters all briefly shot to the top within the final five minutes.

All three of the day’s sessions ran devoid of red flags despite a variety of off-track excursions, particularly at Turn 1.

Result: V8 Supercars Wilson Security Sandown 500, Practice 3 (Co-Drivers) 

1 Pepsi Max Crew Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.6877
2 Pepsi Max Crew Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.7049 00.0172
3 DJR Team Penske Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.8366 00.1489
4 Wilson Security Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Volvo S60 1:09.8780 00.1903
5 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:09.9505 00.2628
6 Team Darrell Lea STIX Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:09.9604 00.2727
7 Red Bull Racing Australia Steven Richards Holden Commodore VF 1:09.9684 00.2807
8 Red Bull Racing Australia Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 1:09.9799 00.2922
9 Wilson Security Racing GRM Chris Pither Volvo S60 1:09.9935 00.3058
10 The Bottle-O Racing Team Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.0153 00.3276
11 Holden Racing Team Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:10.2012 00.5135
12 Team Cooldrive Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VF 1:10.2558 00.5681
13 Nissan Motorsport David Russell Nissan Altima 1:10.2623 00.5746
14 Supercheap Auto Racing Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:10.3074 00.6197
15 Freightliner Racing Luke Youlden Holden Commodore VF 1:10.3675 00.6798
16 Repair Management Aust Racing Oliver Gavin Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4083 00.7206
17 Nissan Motorsport Taz Douglas Nissan Altima 1:10.4091 00.7214
18 Walkinshaw Racing Sebastien Bourdais Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4226 00.7349
19 Holden Racing Team Warren Luff Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4540 00.7663
20 Nissan Motorsport Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 1:10.4802 00.7925
21 Erebus Motorsport V8 Alex Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:10.5179 00.8302
22 Nissan Motorsport Alex Buncombe Nissan Altima 1:10.5559 00.8682
23 Super Black Racing Ant Pedersen Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.9044 01.2167
24 Erebus Motorsport V8 Jack Le Brocq Mercedes E63 AMG 1:11.0234 01.3357
25 GB Galvanizing Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:11.1712 01.4835

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]