Cameron Waters quickest in co-driver practice

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters drove Chaz Mostert’s Ford to the fastest time in the first of two co-driver practice sessions for the Sandown 500.

Waters traded the top spot with team-mate Steve Owen and the Volvo of Chris Pither in the closing stages of the 30 minute session.

The Dunlop Series leader ended up as the only driver in the 1:09s, stopping the clocks with a 1:09.91s best.

“Chaz rolled out this morning and the car was pretty good so we’re just building on that,” said Waters.

“To go quickest in the co-driver session is awesome but Sunday is the day that you’ve got to be at your best.”

Pither ended up second in David Wall’s Volvo ahead of Owen, Paul Dumbrell, Jonathon Webb, Dean Canto, Karl Reindler, Warren Luff, Tony D’Alberto and Marcos Ambrose.

Kiwi Pither’s session included a wild moment at Turn 3, where a tap from Dean Fiore’s Nissan required quick reactions to keep the Volvo off the outside fence.

Luke Youlden endured two major offs at Turn 1 after left-front lock-ups on his way to 18th.

The Holden Racing Team’s Russell Ingall spent a fleeting moment at the top of the order before ending up 21st.

Result: V8 Supercars Wilson Security Sandown 500 Practice 2 (Co-drivers)

1 Pepsi Max Crew Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.9067
2 Wilson Security Racing GRM Chris Pither Volvo S60 1:10.1170 0:00.2103
3 Pepsi Max Crew Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.1787 0:00.2720
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 1:10.2387 0:00.3320
5 Team Darrell Lea STIX Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:10.3413 0:00.4346
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.3538 0:00.4471
7 Team Cooldrive Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VF 1:10.3668 0:00.4601
8 Holden Racing Team Warren Luff Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4002 0:00.4935
9 Supercheap Auto Racing Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4030 0:00.4963
10 DJR Team Penske Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.4293 0:00.5226
11 Nissan Motorsport David Russell Nissan Altima 1:10.4456 0:00.5389
12 Red Bull Racing Australia Steven Richards Holden Commodore VF 1:10.6071 0:00.7004
13 Nissan Motorsport Taz Douglas Nissan Altima 1:10.6406 0:00.7339
14 Wilson Security Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Volvo S60 1:10.6512 0:00.7445
15 Walkinshaw Racing Sebastien Bourdais Holden Commodore VF 1:10.7014 0:00.7947
16 Erebus Motorsport V8 Alex Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:10.7557 0:00.8490
17 Nissan Motorsport Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 1:10.7949 0:00.8882
18 Freightliner Racing Luke Youlden Holden Commodore VF 1:10.8123 0:00.9056
19 Repair Management Aust Racing Oliver Gavin Holden Commodore VF 1:10.8353 0:00.9286
20 Nissan Motorsport Alex Buncombe Nissan Altima 1:10.9783 0:01.0716
21 Holden Racing Team Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:11.0002 0:01.0935
22 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:11.1459 0:01.2392
23 GB Galvanizing Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:11.4089 0:01.5022
24 Super Black Racing Ant Pedersen Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.5071 0:01.6004
25 Erebus Motorsport V8 Jack Le Brocq Mercedes E63 AMG 1:11.5138 0:01.6071

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]