Revised Italian GP grid after further penalties

Max verstappen has been move to the rear of the Italian Grand Prix grid

Max Verstappen has been moved to the rear of the Italian Grand Prix grid

The grid for the Italian Grand Prix has been amended following post qualifying penalties for Max Verstappen and Marcus Ericsson.

Toro Rosso’s Verstappen will now occupy the last spot on the Monza grid after failing to post a time in Q1 due to a late Renault engine change.

The Dutchman has been issued with a 20 place grid penalty for a double power unit switch, while an extra 10 place penalty has been added after his team broke the seals on another engine.

Verstappen will also serve a drive-through penalty at the start of the race following an unsafe release from the pits prior to his one and only installation lap in qualifying.

Sauber driver Ericsson will drop from 10th on the grid to 12th position after the FIA ruled the Swede impeded the Force India of Nico Hulkenberg during a flying lap in Q1.

Ericsson has also been issued with two penalty points on his licence as result of the incident.

As a result of the penalty, Lotus’ Pastor Maldonado moves into P10 while Sauber’s Felipe Nasr will start from 11th position.

Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo will join Verstappen on the final row following his 50 place penalty for a double engine change.

Team-mate Daniil Kvyat will start alongside Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz after the pair were handed 35 place grid penalties for power unit and component changes.

McLaren’s Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso will start from 15th and 16th respectively after fitting new power unit elements.

Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix Grid

Position Driver Car Gap
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m23.397s
2 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 0.234s
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 0.288s
4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 0.306s
5 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 0.543s
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 0.730s
7 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1.229s
8 Romain Grosjean Lotus/Mercedes 1.657s
9 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1.920s
10 Pastor Maldonado Lotus/Mercedes 1.128s
11 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1.501s
12 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 2.817s
13 Will Stevens Marussia/Ferrari 4.334s
14 Roberto Merhi Marussia/Ferrari 4.515s
15 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 2.661s
16 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 2.757s
17 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 2.221s
18 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/Renault 2.399s
19 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault
20 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Renault

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]