Aussie takes fourth NHRA win of the season

Richie Crampton on his way to victory (PIC: NHRA)

Richie Crampton on his way to victory (PIC: NHRA)

South Australian Richie Crampton has racked up another NHRA Top Fuel victory, beating home Brittany Force in the final at Brainerd International Raceway.

Getting the holeshot, Crampton swept to victory in a 3.695 second pass at 325.3mph to take his fourth victory of 2015 and sixth career NHRA major event trophy.

Crampton advanced to the final after taking care of Morgan Lucas, former World Champion Larry Dixon and Shawn Langdon.

The win has moved Crampton into third in the points standings with just one more event to go before the Mello Yello Series goes into its ‘Countdown’ mode.

It was a history making weekend at Brainerd, with Antron Brown completing the quickest Top Fuel pass ever – a 3.680 and Matt Hagan set stunning new benchmarks for Funny Car in both elapsed time and speed – recording a blistering 3.879 second pass at 329.58mph.

Another Aussie, Steve Harker – competing in Top Alcohol Funny Car – was eliminated in the second round.

Robert Hight took the win in nitro Funny Car, Erica Enders yet again won Pro Stock and Eddie Kraewic won Pro Stock Motorcycle.


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]