McLaughlin scores pole in dry qualifying

Sunday 23rd August, 2015 - 12:21pm


Scott McLaughlin scored pole for Race 23

Scott McLaughlin scored pole for Race 23

Scott McLaughlin and Volvo trumped Prodrive’s fast Fords to score pole position for the 200km feature race at the Sydney Motorsport Park Super Sprint.

Top three qualifiers McLaughlin, David Reynolds and Chaz Mostert were separated by just 0.02s at the end of the 20 minutes.

Despite morning showers and expectations of more rain to come during the afternoon, the session was run in dry conditions.

Drivers spent the bulk of the going assessing the cooler track conditions before the single run on new hard tyres in the final five minutes.

While Reynolds and Mostert appeared to have secured another front-row lockout, McLaughlin’s strategy of an almost full pace warm-up lap before his ultimate effort saw him edge ahead.

“I didn’t expect that today, but the boys gave me a great car,” beamed McLaughlin while accepting the Armor All Pole Award. “Wet or dry I’m looking forward to the race.”

“Probably the smart thing to do was do a 75 percent lap like Scott did and then go for it,” admitted Reynolds. “But my engineer said the pressures are good to go in the first lap so I went for it.”

Shane van Gisbergen, Scott Pye, Lee Holdsworth and Andre Heimgartner filled fourth through seventh, ensuring four of the five Falcons in the field made the top seven.

Championship leader Mark Winterbottom however will start just 12th, attempting three flying laps on his tyres as he struggled to match his team-mates with a ‘fast but unpredictable’ set-up.

Race 22 winner Jamie Whincup set the initial benchmark in a single lap run on new tyres before eventually falling to eighth. Team-mate Craig Lowndes was even further back in 19th.

Holdsworth was meanwhile the only shining light for Walkinshaw Racing in a session that saw Tim Slade, Garth Tander and Jack Perkins all outside the top 20.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 23 Qualifying, Sydney Motorsport Park

1 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:30.1669
2 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.1834 00.0165
3 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.1868 00.0199
4 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:30.2241 00.0572
5 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.2336 00.0667
6 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:30.2413 00.0744
7 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.2536 00.0867
8 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:30.2899 00.1230
9 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:30.3720 00.2051
10 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:30.4201 00.2532
11 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:30.4823 00.3154
12 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.4886 00.3217
13 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.5298 00.3629
14 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:30.5597 00.3928
15 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:30.5791 00.4122
16 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:30.6322 00.4653
17 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:30.6400 00.4731
18 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.6700 00.5031
19 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:30.7071 00.5402
20 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:30.7811 00.6142
21 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:30.7812 00.6143
22 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:30.8377 00.6708
23 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 1:30.8683 00.7014
24 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:30.9922 00.8253
25 Holden Racing Team Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 1:31.3020 01.1351 has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!