Denyer tames wet SMP in commanding AGT win

Grant Denyer celebrates victory at Sydney Motorsport Park

Grant Denyer celebrates victory at Sydney Motorsport Park

Grant Denyer produced a wet weather driving masterclass to clinch a dominant victory in a drama-filled Australian GT Championship race at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The Maranello Motorsport driver held fourth position in the early stages of the race interrupted by two Safety Car periods as several cars were caught out by slippery track conditions.

However, a quick decision to pit under the second Safety Car saw him emerge in a strong position, before he charged to the front where he stayed for the remaining laps.

In the end, television personality Denyer guided his Ferrari 458 to victory by a comfortable 15s margin from the McLaren 650S of Klark Quinn.

Quinn had been involved in a thrilling scrap with Hayden Cooper’s Ginetta G50 for a podium spot before the latter came to a halt on the final lap.

Cooper’s late demise gifted Nathan Antunes the final spot on the podium following an impressive charge from the Audi R8 driver, who almost went a lap down after his compulsory pit stop.

Antunes had led the race from Saturday winner Ryan Millier in the Jamec Pem Audi R8 and the Trass Family Motorsport Ferrari 458 of Graeme Smyth.

The trio dominated the race maintaining their positions through two Safety Car periods caused by separate crashes at Turn 3 for the McLarens of Tony Quinn and Tony Walls.

A decision to pit on the final lap of the second Safety Car period saw the three cars narrowly avoid going a lap down as the race resumed on lap 12.

The #74 Jamec Pem Audi followed in the wheel tracks of Antunes with Mies at the wheel, as the German managed to charge through to fourth at the flag.

Aaron Seton impressed in the second half of the race to guide the Scott Taylor Motorsport Porsche to fifth ahead of James Koundouris and Mark Griffith, who had been fighting for a podium spot in the final stages.

Jono Lester was unable to match his rivals Mies and Antunes following the pit stop, with the Kiwi only able to bring the Trass Ferrari home in 12th position.

The Australian GT Championship heads to Sandown for the penultimate round held from September 11-13.

Result: Australian GT Championship Race 2, Sydney Motorsport Park

1 Maranello Motorsport Grant Denyer (NSW) Ferrari 458 GT3 2014 29 57:50.6401
2 Darrell Lea Klark Quinn (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3 29 58:05.9617
3 Skwirk / Beechwood Homes Nathan Antunes (NSW) Audi R8 Ultra 29 58:14.6002
4 JAMEC PEM Racing C.Mies/R.Millier Audi R8 Ultra 29 58:21.0062
5 Scott Taylor Motorsport S.Taylor/A.Seton Porsche 997 GT3-R 29 58:22.3020
6 Supabarn Supermarkets James Koundouris (ACT) Porsche 997 GT3-R 29 58:30.4117
7 Hogs Breath Caf Mark Griffith (QLD) udi R8 LMS 29 58:38.3679
8 Adina Apartment Hotels G.Taylor/B.Mawer Audi R8 LMS 29 58:38.5775
9 JAMEC PEM Racing Steven McLaughlan (VIC) Audi R8 Ultra 29 58:39.0152
10 AMAC Motorsport A.Macpherson/B.Shiels Porsche 997 GT3-R 29 58:40.0197
11 Interlloy M Motorsport J.McMillan/G.Wood Lamborghini Gallardo 29 58:41.9152
12 Trass Family Motorsport J.Lester/G.Smyth Ferrari 458 GT3 29 58:42.1574
13 Erebus Motorsport Morgan Haber Mercedes Benz AMG SL 29 58:52.1247
14 Voight Contracting S.Voight/A.Tebb Porsche 997 GT3 Cup 29 59:13.5844
15 Supabarn Supermarkets Theo Koundouris (ACT) Porsche 996 GT3-S 29 59:34.0189
16 Erebus Motorsport M.Twigg/G.Emery Mercedes Benz AMG SLS 28 57:52.6810
17 Southern Star Developments Rob Smith (VIC) Audi R8 LMS 28 58:04.3548
18 Flying B Racing P.Edwards/J.Bowe Bentley Continental 28 58:34.4173
19 Thomson Geer Lawyers Michael O’Donnell (SA) Porsche GT3 Cup Car 28 58:36.6463
20 Donut King Tony Alford (QLD) Lotus Exige Cup R 28 58:46.7205
21 Miles Advisory Tim Miles (NSW) Aston Martin Vantage 28 58:47.5820
22 Fastway Couriers S.Ellinghham/W.Luff Porsche GT3 Cup Car 28 58:50.8440
23 Rentcorp Forklifts Indiran Padayachee Porsche GT3 Cup Car 28 59:30.9712
24 SAFE-T-STOP Richard Gartner (NSW) Porsche GT3 Cup Car 27 57:59.7209
25 Interlloy M Motorsport J.LeBrocq/N.Morcom Reiter Camaro GT3 23 58:52.1266
DNF Motor School B.Foessel/H.Cooper Ginetta G50Z 28 56:27.0759
DNF Objective Racing Tony Walls (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3  7 17:05.5760
DNF Darrell Lea Anthony Quinn (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3  1  1:59.5947

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]