Chaz Mostert wins rain hit Sydney finale

The Race 23 podium

The Race 23 podium

Chaz Mostert scored his second win in as many days with a masterful drive in wet conditions at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Mostert led home Brad Jones Racing duo Fabian Coulthard and Jason Bright at the end of an eventful race, with Shane van Gisbergen and Scott McLaughlin completing the top five.

Both Bright and Van Gisbergen ended the race under a cloud after a late lunge from the Kiwi spun the Team BOC Holden driver, who subsequently cut out the whole southern section of the circuit to regain his position.

The race was a tale of two major twists; a Safety Car on the second lap that sent the majority of the field to pitlane for their first stops and later an onset of rain as the second stops were unfolding, which coincided with a second full course yellow.

Mostert had held third behind McLaughlin and David Reynolds on the opening lap before jumping both in the stop under yellows.

Marginally short-filled compared to team-mate Reynolds, Mostert was able to eek out enough of a margin during the middle stint to hold the advantage when he pitted as the heavens opened on lap 24 of 52.

The Pepsi Max Ford controlled the remainder of the race until it reached its time cut-off two laps early, managing his wet tyres on the drying surface to score a 7.6s victory.

“We pitted at the right times and the car was good in the rain, so it was a good day for us,” smiled Mostert post-race.

Coulthard took team-mate Bright for second with little over 10 minutes remaining to back up his own podium from Saturday.

The two BJR Holdens had been among those to charge through the field in the middle stint after, by contrast to the likes of Mostert and Reynolds, sticking with soft tyres during the lap two pitstops.

Bright then carved through from seventh to second in just two laps at the start of the wet final stint, before his pace faded in the closing stages.

Typically, van Gisbergen also charged in the wet, making his way through from 15th to sixth in just four laps, before climbing further still to his eventual fourth.

Pole-sitter McLaughlin didn’t quite have the pace in wet or dry conditions to end up fifth.

Reynolds drifted to sixth in the wet stint, while Michael Caruso, Tim Slade, Nick Percat and Craig Lowndes completed the top 10.

The two Safety Cars were caused by opening lap contact between David Wall and Todd Kelly and later an off from Dale Wood and Andre Heimgartner as the rain fell.

Starting 12th, championship leader Mark Winterbottom could manage no better than 16th after being mired in the mid-field all race.

Race 22 winner Jamie Whincup was just two places further ahead after a torrid race that included minor contact with a number of rivals.

Among them was James Moffat, who battled on seven cylinders until eventually falling foul of a terminal engine problem to record the race’s only retirement.

Jack Perkins and Ash Walsh pitted on the very first lap and benefitted greatly from the subsequent Safety Car to vault into the top five.

The duo eventually finished 11th and 21st respectively, with Walsh penalised for an infringement on the second restart.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 23, Sydney Motorsport Park

1 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 50 01:28:29.5694
2 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 50 01:28:37.2262
3 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 50 01:28:42.9343
4 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 50 01:28:44.5333
5 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 50 01:28:46.0787
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 50 01:28:50.4867
7 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 50 01:28:50.6981
8 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 50 01:28:53.2189
9 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 50 01:28:56.7688
10 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 50 01:28:57.8814
11 Holden Racing Team Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 50 01:29:00.0673
12 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 50 01:29:00.8497
13 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 50 01:29:09.2096
14 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 50 01:29:09.8305
15 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 50 01:29:12.1551
16 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 50 01:29:12.2923
17 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 50 01:29:15.5190
18 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 50 01:29:21.8428
19 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 50 01:29:32.0524
20 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 50 01:29:42.9842
21 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 50 01:29:58.1975
22 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 48 01:29:13.1851
23 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 44 01:29:58.9104
24 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 40 01:29:44.8481
DNF Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 42 01:15:51.0826

Championship Standings

1 Mark Winterbottom 1915
2 Chaz Mostert 1741
3 Craig Lowndes 1660
4 David Reynolds 1633
5 Fabian Coulthard 1580
6 Jamie Whincup 1466
7 Garth Tander 1394
8 James Courtney 1373
9 Shane van Gisbergen 1362
10 Rick Kelly 1145
11 Scott McLaughlin 1086
12 Jason Bright 1047
13 Michael Caruso 1042
14 Tim Slade 1009
15 Will Davison 1009
16 Todd Kelly 960
17 Lee Holdsworth 912
18 Nick Percat 896
19 James Moffat 848
20 Andre Heimgartner 792
21 Scott Pye 789
22 Dale Wood 719
23 David Wall 690
24 Tim Blanchard 681
25 Ash Walsh 549
26 Marcos Ambrose 125
27 Jack Perkins 120

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]