Mostert defeats Winterbottom in Race 21

Chaz Mostert scored his fourth win of the season

Chaz Mostert scored his fourth win of the season

Chaz Mostert out-gunned team-mate Mark Winterbottom from the front-row of the grid to take victory in the opening race at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Eager to make amends for a series of poor starts that have proven costly during the season to date, Mostert made what team principal Tim Edwards admitted appeared a ‘borderline’ getaway as he jumped with the lights.

Even so, the two Pepsi Max Falcons ran side-by-side through the Turn 1 sweeper before Mostert pulled ahead for good at the second corner.

The field had to contend with a dusty track following Kevin Weeks' accident in the Australian GT race

The field had to contend with a dusty track following Kevin Weeks’ accident in the Australian GT race

The youngster sprinted to an early two second lead before cruising home 1.6s ahead at the end of the 16 laps.

“It was good to get a good start and stay up the front,” said Mostert post-race.

“We’re consistent at the moment and we’re just trying to stay there.”

Although no official investigation took place, Winterbottom also noted that Mostert had been the first to go at the green.

“He went then he stopped at the start and then he went again,” Winterbottom recounted.

“There was not much in it but he had just a bit more pace. When you’re second you’ve still got to be happy.”

Third placed Jamie Whincup was a full 6.8s adrift of the win as Prodrive again proved to have the dominant package.

Whincup, however, was able to ease away from the third Prodrive entry of David Reynolds, who was left to fend off Craig Lowndes for fourth.

The result marked Whincup’s first podium since Race 8 of the season at Barbagallo in May.

Tander and Perkins ran line astern in the HRT Commodores

Tander and Perkins ran line astern in the HRT Commodores

While the first five finished as they started, Rick Kelly managed to jump two places off the line from eighth.

The Jack Daniel’s Nissan ultimately held off Andre Heimgartner’s Ford by 0.047s, forcing the Falcon towards the pitwall as they dashed for the flag.

Scott McLaughlin, Scott Pye and Jason Bright rounded out the top 10 in a largely pedestrian 60km sprint.

Further back, Garth Tander charged from last to 18th on the opening lap, but could make no further progress.

Jack Perkins trailed his team-mate for the duration to finish 19th.

Contact between Nick Percat and Dale Wood at Turn 7 in the early stages that spun the latter’s Commodore will meanwhile be the subject of a post-race investigation.

Percat had dived down the inside of the BJR Holden, but found the door firmly closed as Wood turned in.

Faring even worse was Ash Walsh, who quickly dropped from 13th on the grid to last with a steering problem.

The day’s second sprint race will get underway at 1635 local time.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 21, Sydney Motorsport Park

1 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 16 24:49.1655
2 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 16 24:50.7942
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 16 24:55.9690
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 16 24:59.4724
5 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 16 25:00.5589
6 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 16 25:05.0149
7 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 16 25:05.0615
8 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 16 25:05.6523
9 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 16 25:06.2312
10 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 16 25:06.5371
11 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 16 25:09.2464
12 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 16 25:09.8370
13 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 16 25:10.2473
14 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 16 25:10.7408
15 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 16 25:12.4761
16 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 16 25:13.0449
17 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 16 25:15.6127
18 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 16 25:15.7773
19 Holden Racing Team Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 16 25:17.1056
20 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 16 25:17.9390
21 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 16 25:18.2336
22 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 16 25:23.4649
23 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 16 25:24.1898
24 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 16 25:24.7908
25 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 16 26:12.2540

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]