Mies/Millier take out eventful AGT opener

Chris Mies and Ryan Miller took victory in the opening Australian GT Championship race at Sydney Motorsport Park

Chris Mies and Ryan Millier took victory in the opening Australian GT Championship race at Sydney Motorsport Park

Ryan Millier held off a hard charging Nathan Antunes to secure victory in a Safety Car interrupted Australian GT Championship opener at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Millier, sharing the #74 Jamec Pem Audi R8 with Chris Mies, were involved in a race long tussle for victory with the pole sitting Steve Owen/Kevin Weeks Ford GT, which led every lap before the Safety Car was deployed.

A high speed crash for Maranello Motorsport’s Andrew Jones at Turn 1, who luckily walked away from the incident, forced a lengthy delay as marshals repaired the barriers.

The field elected to take their compulsory stops under the Safety Car before racing resumed with just five minutes remaining.

Millier and Antunes’ Audi R8s quickly found a way by Weeks on the restart to produce a thrilling dice for the victory.

Despite a couple of pressure filled final laps, Millier held firm to take the win by 0.3s from Antunes’ Skwirk Audi R8.

Graeme Smyth managed to guide the Trass Family Motorsport Ferrari 458, he shares with Jono Lester, home in third.

However, the race finished in dramatic circumstances for Weeks as he suffered a huge crash at Turn 8 of the final lap, which saw the Ford GT sustain heavy damage.

Morgan Haber brought his Erebus Mercedes SLS home in fourth ahead of the #88 Maranello Motorsport Ferrari 458 of Grant Denyer.

Klark Quinn secured sixth in his Darrell Lea backed McLaren 650S in front of the second Erebus Mercedes SLS of Max Twigg and Geoff Emery.

The Reiter Camaro driven by Jack Le Brocq and Nathan Morcom finished eighth, while James Koundouris (Porsche) and Tony Walls (McLaren) rounded out the top 10.

Matt Campbell and Justin McMillan were involved in one of the race’s other moments when the pair collided fighting for position on the entry to Turn 1 in the early laps.

McMillan’s Lamborghini was pitched into a spin which saw his race end on the spot, while Campbell brought the damaged Ginetta G55 back to the pits to retire after 13 laps.

A second 60 minute Australian GT race is scheduled for Sunday beginning at 0920 local time.

Result: Australian GT Championship Race 1, Sydney Motorsport Park

1 JAMEC PEM Racing C.Mies/R.Millier Audi R8 Ultra 31 59:47.7548
2 Skwirk / Beechwood Homes Nathan Antunes (NSW) Audi R8 Ultra 31 59:48.0582
3 Trass Family Motorsport J.Lester/G.Smyth Ferrari 458 GT3 31 59:51.8882
4 Erebus Motorsport Morgan Haber Mercedes Benz AMG SL 31 59:52.2876
5 Maranello Motorsport Grant Denyer (NSW) Ferrari 458 GT3 2014 31 59:55.0369
6 Darrell Lea Klark Quinn (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3 31 59:56.1989
7 Erebus Motorsport M.Twigg/G.Emery Mercedes Benz AMG SL 31 59:58.0250
8 Interlloy M Motorsport J.LeBrocq/N.Morcom Reiter Camaro GT3 31 01:00:01.5197
9 Supabarn Supermarkets James Koundouris (ACT) Porsche 997 GT3-R 31 01:00:03.6207
10 Objective Racing Tony Walls (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3 31 01:00:04.3399
11 Darrell Lea Anthony Quinn (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3 31 01:00:05.6904
12 Scott Taylor Motorsport S.Taylor/A.Seton Porsche 997 GT3-R 31 01:00:07.9732
13 Supabarn Supermarkets Theo Koundouris (ACT) Porsche 996 GT3-S 31 01:00:11.4010
14 JAMEC PEM Racing Steven McLaughlan (VIC) Audi R8 Ultra 31 01:00:12.0546
15 Flying B Racing P.Edwards/J.Bowe Bentley Continental 31 01:00:17.2635
16 Fastway Couriers S.Ellinghham/W.Luff Porsche GT3 Cup Car 31 01:00:19.3392
17 AMAC Motorsport A.Macpherson/B.Shiels Porsche 997 GT3-R 30    59:49.8949
18 Adina Apartment Hotels G.Taylor/B.Mawer Audi R8 LMS 30    59:53.2115
19 Hogs Breath Caf ark Griffith (QLD) udi R8 LMS 30 1:00:07.0440
20 Thomson Geer Lawyers Michael O’Donnell (SA) Porsche GT3 Cup Car 30 01:00:32.5632
21 Miles Advisory Tim Miles (NSW) Aston Martin Vantage 30 01:00:48.4118
22 Rentcorp Forklifts Indiran Padayachee Porsche GT3 Cup Car 30 01:00:50.7970
23 Voight Contracting S.Voight/A.Tebb Porsche 997 GT3 Cup 29 01:00:12.4362
24 Donut King Tony Alford (QLD) Lotus Exige Cup R 29 01:00:26.6739
DNF Supaloc Racing K.Weeks/S.Owen Ford GT 2011 GT3 30    58:19.1087
DNF Maranello Motorsport Andrew Jones (NSW) Ferrari 458 GT3 18    28:09.0126
DNF Team FreeM Sam Filmore (NZ) Lamborghini Gallardo 17    26:48.8922
DNF SAFE-T-STOP Richard Gartner (NSW) Porsche GT3 Cup Car 14    23:08.3557
DNF HHH Racing/Triffid/ESP Matt Campbell (QLD) Ginetta G55 GT3 13    20:13.0490
DNF Interlloy M Motorsport Justin McMillan (VIC) Lamborghini Gallardo  2     3:16.1541
DNF Southern Star Developments Rob Smith (VIC) Audi R8 LMS  1     3:52.7505

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]