Soft tyres see Wall top Sydney Practice 1

David Wall's Volvo topped Practice 1

David Wall’s Volvo topped Practice 1

A late run on soft tyres allowed David Wall to top the first primary driver practice session at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The Volvo moved 0.3s clear of previous fast man Jamie Whincup inside the final minutes, setting a 1:30.5s that would not be beaten.

Whincup had recorded his best time on the hard tyre almost 20 minutes earlier, which had in turn knocked off early pace-setter Scott McLaughlin.

Ash Walsh and Chaz Mostert improved in the closing stages to bump Scott McLaughlin to fifth.

Rick Kelly ended up sixth, ensuring all five manufacturers were represented in the top half dozen.

Scott Pye was the only other to join Wall in setting his best time on softs, moving to ninth in the closing stages.

“We put a soft tyre on at the end there and they were by no means great so I was quite surprised by the time actually,” said Wall post-session.

“The car was pretty good on the hard tyre too which is pleasing. We need to do a little bit more work on that but I’m happy with the balance.”

James Courtney and Shane van Gisbergen ended up 11th and 12th respectively, having sat out less than 10 minutes at the start of the session as their respective teams fixed issues from the co-driver hit-out.

While the mechanical problems were behind them, Van Gisbergen struggled with the handling of the Tekno Holden, enduring a series of wild offs.

“I was just testing the limits,” said Van Gisbergen.

“The car is pretty ugly as it has been the last couple of rounds… it is so hard to drive.

“When you brake it’s loose and in the corner it understeers, which seems to be a trait of the Holdens this year. We have just got to make it less pitch sensitive.

“It is two different cars into the corner and then through it. We are just trying to make it do one thing which we have been struggling with all year.”

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 1, Sydney Motorsport Park 

1 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:30.53
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:30.82 00.2953
3 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 1:30.82 00.2970
4 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.87 00.3385
5 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:30.92 00.3957
6 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:31.21 00.6870
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.26 00.7298
8 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.26 00.7316
9 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.28 00.7500
10 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:31.33 00.8029
11 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:31.33 00.8070
12 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:31.34 00.8165
13 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:31.50 00.9727
14 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:31.53 01.0027
15 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:31.60 01.0722
16 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:31.64 01.1120
17 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:31.65 01.1207
18 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:31.76 01.2362
19 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:31.82 01.2958
20 Supercheap Auto Racing T.Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:31.83 01.3011
21 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:31.88 01.3541
22 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:32.05 01.5197
23 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 1:32.10 01.5765
24 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:32.40 01.8762
25 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:32.75 02.2232

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]