Mostert sets the pace in second practice

Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert continued his strong form as he topped the times in the second V8 Supercars practice session at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The Prodrive Racing driver proved to be the only man to clock a time in the 1:29s bracket as he made the most of a soft tyre run during the 60 minute hit out.

Supercheap Auto Racing’s Tim Slade emerged in second spot just 0.1265s adrift of the Falcon driver with an impressive effort late in the session.

Tekno Autosport’s Shane van Gisbergen showed encouraging signs in third having struggled to find a balance in opening practice.

Nick Percat ensured there were three Holdens in the top five with the Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport driver slotting into fourth in the dying seconds.

Championship leader Mark Winterbottom was fifth fastest a full 0.4s adrift of his Prodrive team-mate Mostert.

Garry Rogers Motorsport driver Scott McLaughlin had held the top spot for a sizeable chunk of the session before he slid down the order to sixth.

Andre Heimgartner, Michael Caruso, Lee Holdsworth and David Reynolds rounded out the top 10.

After a strong showing in Practice 1, Jamie Whincup finished in P13 behind HRT’s Garth Tander and Erebus Motorsport’s Will Davison.

Title contender Craig Lowndes ended the day in P19.

Jack Perkins deputised for James Courtney in the session after the 2010 V8 Supercars champion was injured in a freak pit lane incident.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 2, Sydney Motorsport Park

1 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.9026
2 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:30.0291 00.1265
3 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:30.0915 00.1889
4 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:30.3143 00.4117
5 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.3681 00.4655
6 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:30.4286 00.5260
7 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.4586 00.5560
8 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:30.4894 00.5868
9 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:30.5614 00.6588
10 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.6609 00.7583
11 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:30.7549 00.8523
12 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:30.7807 00.8781
13 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:30.8443 00.9417
14 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:30.9237 01.0211
15 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:30.9311 01.0285
16 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.9369 01.0343
17 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.9502 01.0476
18 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.9566 01.0540
19 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:30.9878 01.0852
20 Holden Racing Team Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 1:31.0918 01.1892
21 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:31.2937 01.3911
22 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:31.3526 01.4500
23 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:31.7131 01.8105
24 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 1:31.8255 01.9229
25 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:32.3520 02.4494

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]