Aussie to tackle inaugural KL GT City Cup

Tuesday 4th August, 2015 - 5:39pm


Josh Hunt will pilot a Mercedes in the KL GT City Cup

Josh Hunt will pilot a Mercedes in the KL GT City Cup

Kuala Lumpur-based Australian Josh Hunt will race a Mercedes-Benz SLS in this weekend’s inaugural KL GT City Cup.

The 40 minute GT race has been billed as the showpiece of the inaugural KL City GP meeting, which will also feature demonstration races between five V8 Supercars.

Sixteen cars have been entered for the KL GT City Cup, headlined by four GT3 specification machines.

Hunt’s Mercedes will be fielded by Infinity Race Engineering alongside a Ferrari 458 for Malaysian Adrian D’Silva.

Sydney-based Radical Australia race team manager Chris Papadopoulos has been charged with engineering Hunt’s entry at the new street circuit.

Moving to KL earlier this year to head up local operations for the Energy Corse karting empire, Hunt’s most recent GT outing came just last month, where he co-drove a Lamborghini in the Townsville round of the Australian championship.

“I’m really pumped to get behind the wheel for the inaugural KL City Grand Prix this weekend,” said Hunt.

“The SLS is a mega car, and I’m confident we’ve put together the best team for a chance on the podium.

“I’m grateful to have the support of Kurnia AmAssurance. It’s exciting to be backed by such an iconic Malaysian brand, racing in this iconic Malaysian street race, within my first year of operating in Asia.”

An OD Racing Lamborghini Gallardo for former Lotus Racing Formula 1 test driver Fairuz Fauzy and Craft Bamboo Racing Ford GT of Frank Yu completes the GT3 entry.

The remainder of the field is made up of six Lamborghini Super Trofeos, a Porsche Carrera Cup car and GT4 machinery from Lotus and Aston Martin.

Entry list: KL GT City Cup

# Class Driver Make Model Team
15 GT3 Josh Hunt Mercedes–Benz SLS AMG GT3 Kurnia Am Assurance Racing
27 GT3 Adrian D’Silva Ferrari F 458 GT3 Infinity Race Engineering
99 GT3 Frank Yu Ford GT GT3 Craft Bamboo
86 GT3 Fairuz Fauzy Lamborghini Gallardo FL2 GT3 OD Racing
33 GTM Afiq Yazid Lamborghini Super Trofeo LP620 Starspeed Racing
36 GTM Sam Lok Chi Kit Lamborghini Super Trofeo LP620 Starspeed Racing
68 GTM Michael Choi Lamborghini Super Trofeo LP620 Arrow Racing
24 GTM Dilantha Malagamuwa Lamborghini Super Trofeo LP620 Dilango Racing
8 GTM Wong Kiang Kuan Porsche 997 Cup Arrow Racing
23 GTM Yudai Uchida Lamborghini Super Trofeo LP620 Direction Racing
39 GTM Naoki Yokomizo Lamborghini Super Trofeo LP620 Direction Racing
7 GT4 Gerald Yap Aston Martin Vantage N24 GT4 Arrow Racing
11 GT4 Robert Webb Lotus Evora Team Lotus
88 GT4 Chan Kei Ming Anthony Lotus Evora Team Lotus
98 GT4 Eric Wong Lotus Exige V6 Cup R Team Lotus
777 GT4 O’Brien William E Lotus Exige V6 Cup R Team Lotus comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!