Waters takes provisional Race 2 win


Sunday 2nd August, 2015 - 10:47am


Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters took the chequered flag in the second Dunlop Series race at Queensland Raceway but his victory remains provisional due to a post race investigation.

The Prodrive driver completed a lights-to-flag win from Andrew Jones and Jack Le Brocq despite the introduction of the Safety Car with six laps remaining.

However, Waters became the subject of a post race investigation for an alleged Safety Car restart infringement.

Investigation aside, Waters quickly built up a healthy lead while Jones managed to jump Le Brocq into second at the start.

Reigning Dunlop Series winner Paul Dumbrell managed to wrestle third from Le Brocq in the early stages before the positions reversed after a hard fought battle.

2015 V8 Supercars Round 7. Ipswich SuperSprint, Queensland Raceway, Queensland, Australia. Friday 31st July - Sunday 2nd August 2015. World Copyright: Daniel Kalisz Photographer  Ref: Digital Image DKS_4413.NEF

James Golding and Jesse Dixon collide to cause the introduction of the Safety Car

The dice backed the pair into the clutches of Todd Hazelwood and Chris Pither, with the former emerging in fourth after capitalising on a compromised Dumbrell.

Dumbrell quickly recovered to eventually come home in fourth spot ahead of Pither, Garry Jacobson and Hazelwood.

Eggleston Motorsport’s Ant Pedersen came through to finish eighth while Simon Evans and Shae Davies rounded out the top 10.

The race produced several incidents with the Safety Car period caused by James Golding, who made contact with Jesse Dixon at Turn 6, resulting with the pair entering the gravel trap.

Once the racing resumed, Renee Gracie, Josh Kean and Dan Day all encountered off track excursions.

The third and final Dunlop Series race of the weekend is scheduled to begin at 12:40 local time.

Preliminary Result, Dunlop Series Race 2, Queensland Raceway

1 TEAM ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG  19 25:28.5712
2 Brad Jones Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2  19 25:29.8800
3 MW Motorsport Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG  19 25:30.4160
4 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2  19 25:31.5463
5 Ice Break Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG  19 25:31.8818
6 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2  19 25:32.5842
7 iseek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG  19 25:33.3588
8 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2  19 25:34.4007
9 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG  19 25:34.8069
10 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG  19 25:35.5395
11 Middy’s Data & Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VE  19 25:38.4880
12 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG  19 25:40.3904
13 Hayman Reese Jesse Dixon Ford Falcon FG  19 25:40.9440
14 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2  19 25:41.5851
15 Challenger / Simplex Brett Hobson Ford Falcon FG  19 25:42.2682
16 Rsport Race Engineering Phil Woodbury Holden Commodore VE2  19 25:42.6450
17 Alphabet / Wynns Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2  19 25:51.9454
18 Street Fighter Performance Dan Day Ford Falcon FG  19 26:00.9240
19 Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2  16 25:54.7962
DNF Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG  17 23:13.7397
DNF Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG   3  3:45.8452