Pither powers to Dunlop Series Race 3 triumph

Chris Pither produced a faultless drive to victory in Race 3

Chris Pither produced a faultless drive to victory in Race 3

Chris Pither completed a lights-to-flag victory in the final Dunlop Series encounter of the Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint.

The Ice Break Falcon driver made the most of a revised grid for the final 19 lap contest to take the chequered flag from a hard charging Paul Dumbrell and series leader Cameron Waters.

Pither found himself on pole position after Waters, Andrew Jones, Dumbrell and Jack Le Brocq were all hit with grid penalties for a Safety Car restart infringement in the earlier Race 2.

Benefitting form an elevated grid slot, Pither converted the pole into the lead, where he remained at the chequered flag, despite coming under pressure from Dumbrell and Waters.

Ant Pedersen and Todd Hazelwood followed Pither at the start before they were quickly overcome by Dumbrell, who started from fifth on the grid.

Further back, Waters wasted little time after being hit with a 10 place grid penalty, as he hauled himself into the mix in the early laps.

The Prodrive driver scythed his way through the field to emerge fourth as the race ticked by the halfway mark.

Despite an impressive charge, Waters was unable to find a way around Dumbrell as he settled for third, which was enough to claim the round win and extend his series lead to 173 points.

Pedersen managed to hold on to fourth position with Le Brocq fifth.

Andrew Jones finished sixth in front of Simon Evans and Garry Jocobson, who slipped back through the pack after starting alongside Pither on the front row.

Hazelwood and Jesse Dixon rounded out the top 10.

James Golding was involved in further contact when he turned around Josh Kean in the early stages.

Matthew Chahda and Phil Woodbury also spun after a touch on the entry into Turn 4 in the final laps.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 3, Queensland Raceway

1 Ice Break Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG 19 23:00.0026
2 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:00.6916
3 TEAMeam ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 19 23:01.1786
4 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:05.7685
5 MW Motorsport Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 19 23:07.1722
6 Brad Jones Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:11.1073
7 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG 19 23:11.8418
8 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:13.3042
9 iseek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 19 23:15.9022
10 Hayman Reese Jesse Dixon Ford Falcon FG 19 23:16.3244
11 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 19 23:20.2038
12 Middy’s Data & Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VE 19 23:20.5933
13 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:21.0535
14 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 19 23:21.5137
15 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 19 23:26.7251
16 Challenger / Simplex Brett Hobson Ford Falcon FG 19 23:29.0333
17 Street Fighter Performance Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 19 23:29.5974
18 Alphabet / Wynns Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:37.7599
19 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 19 23:50.9907
20 Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2 18 23:38.1467
DNF Rsport Race Engineering Phil Woodbury Holden Commodore VE2 14 17:27.6670

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]