Chaz Mostert charges to victory in Race 20

Chaz Mostert drove away to a fine victory

Chaz Mostert drove away to a fine victory

Chaz Mostert overcame his start line demons to record a commanding victory in the 200km feature race at Queensland Raceway.

Pole-sitter Mostert managed to out-gun team-mate Mark Winterbottom to the first corner and was not headed outside of the pitstop cycles for the duration.

Craig Lowndes and Mark Winterbottom completed the podium, with the former having taken the position in the first of the two pitstops.

Soft-hard-soft tyre strategies were again the order of the day in the 200km contest, with short first stints on the softer rubber ensuring drivers could run in excess of 30 laps in the final stint.

Mostert was among the most conservative on strategy, proving among the first of the front runners to take off the soft tyres and the last to put them back on.

He emerged from his second stop two seconds ahead of Lowndes and, with marginally newer tyres, was able to edge away to a 5.6s victory.

“The boys changed the clutch overnight and it felt pretty good off the start line,” smiled Mostert post-race. “Finally I got away without hesitating.”

“It’s the best we could have done this weekend,” added Lowndes. “Prodrive still have the cars to beat and the strategy got us to where we were.”

David Reynolds drove solidly to fourth ahead of Holden Racing Team drivers Garth Tander and James Courtney, who gained track position through the stops after poor qualifying performances.

Will Davison took seventh for Erebus Motorsport after overcoming Jamie Whincup in the closing stages.

Whincup ran as high as third in the early going before yielding to his faster team-mate Lowndes.

Dropping outside the top 10 when he was long fuelled at his first stop, a rattle gun issue during the second stop further hurt the six-time champion’s progress.

Fellow title contender Fabian Coulthard failed to make ground from a difficult qualifying, finishing 14th, while Shane van Gisbergen had an even worse day, coming home 21st.

Todd Kelly was the race’s only retirement, dropping out of 16th place when his engine lost oil pressure with just over three laps to go.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 20, Queensland Raceway 

1 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 65 01:19:14.8200
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 65 01:19:20.4325
3 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 65 01:19:25.8410
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 65 01:19:33.1510
5 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 65 01:19:34.7119
6 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 65 01:19:40.5886
7 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 65 01:19:40.8268
8 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 65 01:19:45.2831
9 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 65 01:19:45.6169
10 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 65 01:19:46.1678
11 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 65 01:19:50.6481
12 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 65 01:19:50.9331
13 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 65 01:19:53.9235
14 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 65 01:19:54.3151
15 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 65 01:19:56.5813
16 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 65 01:19:57.5822
17 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 65 01:20:02.7578
18 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 65 01:20:03.0188
19 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 65 01:20:08.0394
20 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 65 01:20:08.3557
21 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 65 01:20:26.8385
22 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 64 01:19:16.2085
23 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 64 01:19:28.3845
24 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 64 01:19:57.1226
DNF Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 61 01:15:04.6855

Championship Standings

1 Mark Winterbottom 1744
2 Craig Lowndes 1488
3 Chaz Mostert 1452
4 David Reynolds 1420
5 James Courtney 1373
6 Fabian Coulthard 1332
7 Garth Tander 1262
8 Jamie Whincup 1261
9 Shane van Gisbergen 1165
10 Rick Kelly 997
11 Michael Caruso 886
12 Will Davison 886
13 Todd Kelly 883
14 Scott McLaughlin 870
15 James Moffat 867
16 Jason Bright 862
17 Tim Slade 855
18 Nick Percat 788
19 Lee Holdsworth 763
20 Dale Wood 675
21 Scott Pye 674
22 Andre Heimgartner 660
23 David Wall 610
24 Tim Blanchard 592
25 Ashley Walsh 463
26 Marcos Ambrose 125

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]