Waters charges to ninth win of the season

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters chalked up his ninth victory of the Dunlop Series season with a commanding drive in the opening race of the weekend at Queensland Raceway.

The Mildura driver made no mistakes as he converted his pole position into the lead where he stayed for the entire race.

Matt White Motorsport’s Jack Le Brocq shadowed Waters’ every move but was unable to challenge the Prodrive Racing Australia driver for the lead.

In the end, Waters enjoyed a trouble free run to the chequered flag to edge Le Brocq by 1.9s, with reigning Dunlop Series winner Paul Dumbrell claiming the final podium place in third.

The battle for fourth position was lively in the opening laps with Chris Pither briefly holding the spot before a charging Andrew Jones slipped by at Turn 3 on the second lap.

Jones, returning to the category after being ruled out of the Townsville round on health grounds, produced a strong drive to hold off Pither to remain fourth at the flag.

Todd Hazelwood came home in sixth ahead of Eggleston Motorsport duo of Garry Jacobson and Ant Pedersen.

Aaren Russell came home in ninth while Jesse Dixon hung on to 10th spot in front of James Golding and Simon Evans.

Macauley Jones was involved in the only incident of note when he ran wide at Turn 3, which dropped him to the rear of the field.

The Brad Jones Racing driver eventually managed to salvage 16th spot at the finish.

The Dunlop Series will return on Sunday for two 19 lap races with the first scheduled for 12:40 local time.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 1, Queensland Raceway

1 TEAM ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 19 22:54.2099
2 MW Motorsport Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 19 22:56.1662
3 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:01.5300
4 Brad Jones Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:03.1481
5 Ice Break Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG 19 23:03.4126
6 iseek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 19 23:04.7801
7 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:06.3659
8 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:08.7615
9 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 19 23:11.6359
10 Hayman Reese Jesse Dixon Ford Falcon FG 19 23:16.3813
11 Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:16.7954
12 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG 19 23:17.4240
13 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 19 23:19.3657
14 Alphabet / Wynns Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:21.6863
15 Challenger / Simplex Brett Hobson Ford Falcon FG 19 23:22.7643
16 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:27.6121
17 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 19 23:28.7099
18 Street Fighter Performance Upg Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 19 23:38.5313
19 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 19 23:39.1844
20 Rsport Race Engineering Phil Woodbury Holden Commodore VE2 19 23:43.8423
21 Battery World Racing Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 19 24:03.0914
DNF Middy’s Data & Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VE 13 16:03.6927



Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]