McLaughlin on top in first primary driver session

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin made the most of a late run on soft tyres to set the pace in the first primary driver practice session at Queensland Raceway.

With co-driver Alexandre Premat absent, the #33 Volvo was one of just two cars to sit out the day’s opening session.

McLaughlin didn’t mess about in the 60 minute Practice 1, however, proving among the fastest on the hard tyres before cementing the top spot with 1:10.18s, eight minutes from the end.

“The car felt good on both compounds which is important with this format,” said McLaughlin.

“I’ve always liked this track, which is simple in layout but quite technical when you get out there.”

Erebus team-mates Ash Walsh and Will Davison filled second and third, while Scott Pye jumped to fourth at the chequered flag, making a quartet of cars at the top on softs.

“The car was really good but we need to keep working on it throughout the weekend,” said Walsh.

“I feel good about the session but we’re yet to see what a lot of the quick guys can do.”

Chaz Mostert ended up fifth having stuck with the hards throughout. The Pepsi Max Falcon had been at the top earlier in the session, prior to the onset of the soft rubber.

Todd Kelly continued Nissan’s encouraging start to the weekend in sixth ahead of David Wall, Andre Heimgartner, Mark Winterbottom and Lee Holdsworth.

The Red Bull Holdens were both down the order, with Jamie Whincup 13th and Craig Lowndes 16th.

Practice 1 was devoid of serious incidents, with minor off track excursions for Garth Tander and Rick Kelly among the only notable hiccups.

A second 60 minute session will complete the day’s V8 Supercars running later this afternoon.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 1, Queensland Raceway 

1 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:10.05
2 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 1:10.22 00.16
3 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:10.24 00.18
4 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.34 00.28
5 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.37 00.31
6 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:10.41 00.35
7 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:10.47 00.41
8 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.51 00.45
9 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.57 00.51
10 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:10.63 00.57
11 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:10.71 00.65
12 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:10.74 00.68
13 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:10.78 00.72
14 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:10.86 00.81
15 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.88 00.83
16 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:10.89 00.83
17 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:10.94 00.88
18 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:10.99 00.93
19 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:11.01 00.95
20 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:11.02 00.96
21 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:11.03 00.98
22 Supercheap Auto Racing T.Slade/T.D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:11.06 01.00
23 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:11.11 01.05
24 Holden Racing Team J.Courtney/J.Perkins Holden Commodore VF 1:11.25 01.20
25 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:11.53 01.47

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]