Fiore and Canto set pace in co-driver practice

Dean Fiore proved the fastest man in co-driver practice

Dean Fiore proved the fastest man in co-driver practice

Dean Fiore edged out Dean Canto for the fastest time in co-driver practice at Queensland Raceway.

The #23 Nissan and #55 Ford traded the top spot through the 30 minutes, before a 1:10.49s from Fiore in the closing stages proved unbeatable.

Canto was the only driver to run the soft rubber during the session, which saw teams restricted to just one set of tyres per car.

“It was good,” smiled Fiore after clocking 18 laps.

“We had a small program to work through and we got through it. The car is in good nick and it was good fun

“The team has something to build on from here and hopefully what I found works for Michael (Caruso), because it doesn’t always work that way.”

Steve Owen and Cameron Waters put the two Pepsi Max Fords third and fifth respectively, split by the #15 Nissan of David Russell.

Russell completed a single lap in the #7 Nissan at the start of the session, which is without its co-driver, Brit Alex Buncombe.

A total of 23 cars hit the track, with French drivers Sebastien Bourdais (#18) and Alex Premat (#33) also absent.

Aaren Russell (#3) and Karl Reindler (#222) completed their evaluation laps in the Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Holdens, ending up 21st and 19th respectively.

Marcos Ambrose declared himself pleased with the session after clocking eighth, 0.6s from the pace-setting Fiore.

Result: V8 Supercars Co-driver practice, Queensland Raceway  

1 Nissan Motorsport Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 1:10.49
2 The Bottle-O Racing Team D.Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.66 00.17
3 Pepsi Max Crew Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.92 00.42
4 Nissan Motorsport David Russell Nissan Altima 1:11.02 00.53
5 Pepsi Max Crew Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.04 00.55
6 Erebus Motorsport V8 Alex Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:11.07 00.58
7 GB Galvanizing Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:11.09 00.60
8 DJR Team Penske Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.12 00.63
9 Red Bull Racing Australia Steven Richards Holden Commodore VF 1:11.16 00.67
10 Nissan Motorsport Taz Douglas Nissan Altima 1:11.29 00.80
11 Supercheap Auto Racing Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:11.30 00.81
12 Team Darrell Lea STIX Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:11.31 00.82
13 Holden Racing Team Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 1:11.41 00.91
14 Wilson Security Racing GRM Chris Pither Volvo S60 1:11.41 00.92
15 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:11.48 00.98
16 Holden Racing Team Warren Luff Holden Commodore VF 1:11.52 01.03
17 Super Black Racing Ant Pedersen Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.52 01.03
18 Erebus Motorsport V8 Jack Le Brocq Mercedes E63 AMG 1:11.54 01.05
19 Repair Management Aust Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VF 1:11.58 01.09
20 Freightliner Racing Luke Youlden Holden Commodore VF 1:11.63 01.14
21 Team Cooldrive Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 1:11.67 01.18
22 Red Bull Racing Australia Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 1:12.03 01.54
23 Nissan Motorsport David Russell Nissan Altima

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]