Vettel wins in Hungary as Mercedes hits trouble

Sebastian Vettel on his way to victory in Hungary

Sebastian Vettel on his way to victory in Hungary

Sebastian Vettel held his nerve to claim victory from the Red Bulls of Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo in a frenetic finish to an eventful Hungarian Grand Prix.

The four-time world champion had dominated the encounter after an electric getaway from the grid saw him leapfrog the Mercedes’ of Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg.

However a late Safety Car, caused by Nico Hulkenberg, helped produced a drama filled climax to the race.

The Mercedes of Nico Rosberg and Red Bull Racing’s Ricciardo emerged in pursuit of the German following the restart to put a likely victory for Vettel in the balance.

In the end, Ricciardo and Rosberg made contact as the Australian tried to snatch second with a move at Turn 1, which damaged his front wing, while causing a right rear puncture for the Mercedes driver.

Subsequent trips to the pits allowed Vettel to score victory, while Kvyat was promoted from fourth to a maiden podium in second, with Ricciardo recovering to claim his first podium of 2015 in third.

Vettel’s victory provided a bittersweet moment for Ferrari as an MGUK failure ultimately forced Kimi Raikkonen, who held second for the majority of the race, into a retirement .

It proved to be a difficult day for Mercedes as Rosberg’s late drama saw him come home in eighth, while polesitter Hamilton fought his way back to sixth after an error strewn race from the reigning world champion.

The championship leader suffered a poor start from pole which dropped him to fourth, but a mistake at the chicane on the opening lap saw him fall further down the field.

Hamilton managed to fight his way back into contention aided by a Safety Car period after Force India’s Hulkenberg suffered a front wing failure.

The Mercedes driver struggled at the restart resulting in a collision with Ricciardo at Turn 1, which incurred a drive-through penalty, shortly after he had stopped for a new front wing.

Aside from Mercedes’ struggles, Toro Rosso’s Max Verstappen capitalised on the drama to score his career best finish in fourth.

Another team who made the most of the chaotic scenes was McLaren as Fernando Alonso brought his MP4-30 home in fifth, with team-mate Jenson Button in ninth.

Romain Grosjean held off a hard charging Rosberg for seventh, while Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson clinched the final point in 10th position.

Williams endured a day to forget with Felipe Massa coming home in 12th ahead of Valtteri Bottas in 13th position.

Massa’s race was hampered by a penalty for being out of position on the grid, while Bottas suffered a puncture after contact with Verstappen shortly after the restart.

Force India retired Sergio Perez from the race moments after Hulkenberg’s front wing failure.

Result: Formula 1 Hungarian Grand Prix, Hungaroring

Position Driver Team Laps Gap
1 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 69
2 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/Renault 69 +15.7s
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 69 +25.0s
4 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Renault 69 +44.2s
5 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 69 +49.0s
6 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 69 +52.0s
7 Romain Grosjean Lotus/Mercedes 69 +58.5s
8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 69 +58.8s
9 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 69 +1:07.0s
10 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 69 +1:09.1s
11 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 69 +1:13.4s
12 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 69 +1:14.2s
13 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 69 +1:20.2s
14 Pastor Maldonado Lotus/Mercedes 69 +1:25.5s
15 Roberto Merhi Marussia/Ferrari 67 +2 Laps
16 Will Stevens Marussia/Ferrari 65 +4 Laps
DNF Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 60 Retirement
DNF Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 55 Power Unit
DNF Sergio Pérez Force India/Mercedes 53 Retirement
DNF Nico Hülkenberg Force India/Mercedes 41 Wing

Championship Standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Lewis Hamilton 202
2 Nico Rosberg 181
3 Sebastian Vettel 160
4 Valtteri Bottas 77
5 Kimi Räikkönen 76
6 Felipe Massa 74
7 Daniel Ricciardo 51
8 Daniil Kvyat 45
9 Nico Hülkenberg 24
10 Romain Grosjean 23
11 Max Verstappen 22
12 Felipe Nasr 16
13 Sergio Pérez 15
14 Pastor Maldonado 12
15 Fernando Alonso 11
16 Carlos Sainz 9
17 Jenson Button 6
18 Marcus Ericsson 6
19 Roberto Merhi 0
20 Will Stevens 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]