Marquez ends winless streak in Germany

Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez scored his first MotoGP victory since April as he completed his domination of the German Grand Prix with a commanding ride at the Sachsenring.

The reigning world champion confirmed his resurgence with a dominant performance to head a Honda one-two, with Dani Pedrosa claiming only his second podium of the season.

Championship leader Valentino Rossi was forced to settle for third having been unable to match the blistering pace set by Marquez and Pedrosa.

The race developed into a fight between the factory Honda and Yamaha squads as Jorge Lorenzo briefly held the lead courtesy of a stunning opening lap move around the outside of the Honda duo at Turn 1.

However, Marquez applied intense pressure on Lorenzo before he found a way through to the lead on lap five.

Behind, Rossi scythed through the field to occupy second, aided by moves on Pedrosa and Lorenzo, but he couldn’t maintain Marquez’s pace.

Rossi subsequently dropped back to third behind the second Honda, where he stayed for the remainder of the race as Marquez took the spoils from Pedrosa.

Third place for the nine-time world champion saw the Italian extend his championship lead to 13 points over Lorenzo.

Ducati’s Andrea Iannone emerged in fourth ahead of Tech 3 Yamaha’s Bradley Smith and LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow.

The sister Tech 3 Yamaha of Pol Espargaro finished eighth, while Danilo Petrucci and Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro rounded out the top 10.

Australia’s Jack Miller was involved in a hotly contested scrap with Alvaro Bautista for much of the race, which resulted in a hard fought point for the LCR Honda rider in 15th position.

MotoGP will undertake a summer break before heading to Indianapolis for Round 10 on August 9.

Result: MotoGP German Grand Prix, Sachsenring

Position Rider Team/Bike Laps Gap
1 Marc Márquez Honda 30
2 Daniel Pedrosa Honda 30 +2.226s
3 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 30 +5.608s
4 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 30 +9.928s
5 Andrea Iannone Ducati 30 +20.785s
6 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 30 +23.215s
7 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 30 +29.881s
8 Pol Espargaró Tech 3 Yamaha 30 +34.953s
9 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati 30 +35.875s
10 Aleix Espargaró Suzuki 30 +37.253s
11 Maverick Viñales Suzuki 30 +37.274s
12 Yonny Hernández Pramac Ducati 30 +42.081s
13 Héctor Barberá Avintia Ducati 30 +48.611s
14 Álvaro Bautista Gresini Aprilia 30 +50.687s
15 Jack Miller LCR Honda 30 +53.769s
16 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 30 +58.921s
17 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 30 +1:02.738s
18 Alex de Angelis ART/Aprilia 30 +1:03.122s
19 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha 30 +1:11.162s
20 Michael Laverty Aprilia 30 +1:15.910s
DNF Claudio Corti Forward Yamaha 22 Retirement
DNF Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 14 Retirement
DNF Hiroshi Aoyama AB Honda 4 Retirement
DNF Mike Di Meglio Ducati 3 Retirement
DNF Scott Redding Honda 0 Retirement

Championship Standings

Position Driver Points
1 Valentino Rossi 179
2 Jorge Lorenzo 166
3 Andrea Iannone 118
4 Marc Márquez 114
5 Andrea Dovizioso 87
6 Bradley Smith 87
7 Daniel Pedrosa 67
8 Cal Crutchlow 66
9 Pol Espargaró 64
10 Maverick Viñales 57
11 Danilo Petrucci 51
12 Aleix Espargaró 44
13 Yonny Hernández 32
14 Scott Redding 30
15 Héctor Barberá 19
16 Loris Baz 14
17 Álvaro Bautista 13
18 Jack Miller 12
19 Stefan Bradl 9
20 Michele Pirro 8
21 Nicky Hayden 8
22 Eugene Laverty 7
23 Hiroshi Aoyama 5
24 Mike Di Meglio 2
25 Alex de Angelis 1

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]