Waters secures Dunlop Series Townsville pole

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters remains the man to beat in the Dunlop Series as he secured pole position for the first of two races on the streets of Townsville.

The Prodrive Racing Australia driver pipped Jack Le Brocq by 0.09s to score his eighth career pole position at the Reid Park circuit.

Waters joined the session late but he wasted little time in getting up to speed as he knocked Le Brocq off the top of the times with a 1:14.6769s effort.

Eggleston Motorsport’s Garry Jacobson was third fastest just 0.2s adrift of the Dunlop Series championship leader.

Team-mate and reigning Dunlop Series champion Paul Dumbrell was fourth just ahead of Chris Pither’s Ford Falcon which had set the initial pace in the session.

A late charge saw South Australian Todd Hazelwood completed the third row in sixth behind the wheel of the iSeek Falcon.

Ant Pedersen put his back injury behind him to claim seventh spot as James Golding, Shae Davies and Kiwi Simon Evans rounded out the top 10.

Andrew Jones has been forced to withdraw from competition this weekend after suffering from chest pains which saw him undergo tests at a local hospital yesterday.

The opening Dunlop Series race of the weekend is scheduled to start at 14:20.

Result: Dunlop Series Qualifying Race 1 Result, Townsville

1 TEAM ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 1:14.67
2 Thomas Steel Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 1:14.77 00.09
3 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.88 00.20
4 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.91 00.23
5 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG 1:14.96 00.28
6 iseek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 1:15.17 00.49
7 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.18 00.50
8 Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.35 00.67
9 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 1:15.35 00.67
10 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG 1:15.35 00.67
11 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 1:15.48 00.80
12 Hayman Reese Racing Jesse Dixon Ford Falcon FG 1:15.54 00.87
13 THR Developments/SA Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.57 00.89
14 Paul Morris Motorsports Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 1:15.97 01.29
15 Street Fighter Performance Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 1:16.25 01.57
16 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 1:16.26 01.58
17 Alphabet / Wynns Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 1:16.37 01.70
18 Challenger / Simplex Brett Hobson Holden Commodore VE2 1:16.48 01.80
19 THR Developments/SA Racing Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 1:16.59 01.92
20 Arcoplate / Penrite Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VE2 1:16.76 02.09
21 Middy’s Data & Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VE 1:16.80 02.13
22 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 1:16.85 02.17
23 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 1:17.14 02.46
24 Warrin Mining / Volvo CE Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE2 1:17.22 02.55
25 Battery World Racing Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 1:17.61 02.94

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]