Waters continues winning run in Townsville

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters showcased his potential once again with a lights-to-flag drive in the first of two Dunlop Series races at Townsville.

The Prodrive V8 Supercars co-driver successfully converted his pole position into a healthy lead courtesy of a stunning start which he maintained to record his eighth win of the season.

Waters’ Prodrive Racing Australia Ford Falcon proved untouchable throughout the race as he continued his domination of the Dunlop Series, winning the race by 6.9 seconds from Garry Jacobson.

Jacobson was lucky to finish second having been hit with a five second post race penalty for jumping the start.

However, the Eggleston Motorsport driver did just enough to finish ahead of Jack Le Brocq, who held second in the early stages before a lock up at Turn 2 saw him hand the position to Jacobson.

Fellow Eggleston Motorsport runner Ant Pedersen came home in fourth ahead of reigning champion and team-mate Paul Dumbrell, who lost further ground in the title race in fifth.

Todd Hazelwood finished in sixth ahead of Shae Davies, Arren Russell, Maculey Jones and Paul Morris, who completed the top 10.

Chris Pither and Simon Evans managed to fight their way back to 11th and 13th positions having been forced to start from the rear of the grid due to a parc ferme infringement after qualifying.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 1, Townsville

1 TEAM ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 21 26:46.65
2 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 21 26:58.61
3 Thomas Steel Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 21 26:58.88
4 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 21 27:03.38
5 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 21 27:04.18
6 iseek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 21 27:04.74
7 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 21 27:06.22
8 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 21 27:10.31
9 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 21 27:11.79
10 Paul Morris Motorsports Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 21 27:13.83
11 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG 21 27:14.05
12 Hayman Reese Racing Jesse Dixon Ford Falcon FG 21 27:19.94
13 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG 21 27:27.35
14 THR Developments/SA Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 21 27:33.11
15 Alphabet / Wynns Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 21 27:34.91
16 Challenger / Simplex Brett Hobson Holden Commodore VE2 21 27:35.53
17 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 21 27:52.45
18 THR Developments/SA Racing Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 21 27:53.50
19 Warrin Mining / Volvo CE Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE2 21 27:58.99
20 Street Fighter Performance Upg Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 20 26:54.82
21 Arcoplate / Penrite Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VE2 16 26:57.36
DNF Middy’s Data & Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VE 18 23:48.21
DNF Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2  4  5:24.59
DNF Battery World Racing Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2  4  5:30.73
DNF Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG  4  5:32.25


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]