Marquez charges to German GP pole

Marc Marquez on his way to pole position

Marc Marquez on his way to pole position

Marc Marquez continued his recent resurgence by securing pole position for the MotoGP German Grand Prix at the Sachsenring.

The Honda rider topped the times in all four practice sessions before transferring his pace into qualifying to claim pole position by 0.292s from his team-mate Dani Pedrosa.

Marquez lit up the timing screens early in the session but he was unable to relax as Pedrosa briefly eclipsed the reigning world champion’s effort in the dying minutes.

However, Marquez issued an immediate response by posting a 1:20.336s effort to further stamp his authority on the event.

Jorge Lorenzo will complete the front row in third with the Yamaha 0.5s adrift of the impressive Marquez.

Ducati’s Andrea Iannone was fourth fastest ahead of Colombian Yonny Hernandez, who scored his career best qualifying result in fifth.

It proved to be a difficult session for championship leader Valentino Rossi as the nine-time world champion was only able to post a time good enough for sixth spot.

The Suzuki of Aleix Espargaro was seventh quickest ahead of brother Pol Espargaro (Tech 3 Yamaha) and his team-mate Bradley Smith.

LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow rounded out the top 10 with Andrea Dovizioso struggling for outright speed in 11th position.

Australia’s Jack Miller will start from 18th on the grid aboard the Open Class LCR Honda.

Result: MotoGP German Grand Prix Qualifying, Sachsenring

Position Rider Bike Time Gap
1 Marc Márquez Honda 1:20.336s
2 Daniel Pedrosa Honda 1:20.628s +0.292s
3 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1:20.921s +0.585s
4 Andrea Iannone Ducati 1:21.029s +0.693s
5 Yonny Hernández Pramac Ducati 1:21.115s +0.779s
6 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1:21.220s +0.884s
7 Aleix Espargaró Suzuki 1:21.239s +0.903s
8 Pol Espargaró Tech 3 Yamaha 1:21.274s +0.938s
9 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 1:21.329s +0.993s
10 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1:21.409s +1.073s
11 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:21.503s +1.167s
12 Maverick Viñales Suzuki 1:21.796s +1.460s
13 Héctor Barberá Avintia Ducati 1:21.628s +1.292s
14 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda 1:21.632s +1.296s
15 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati 1:21.760s +1.424s
16 Álvaro Bautista Gresini Aprilia 1:22.049s +1.713s
17 Alex de Angelis ART/Aprilia 1:22.195s +1.859s
18 Jack Miller LCR Honda 1:22.225s +1.889s
19 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 1:22.362s +2.026s
20 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha 1:22.394s +2.058s
21 Mike Di Meglio Ducati 1:22.441s +2.105s
22 Hiroshi Aoyama Honda 1:22.543s +2.207s
23 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 1:22.693s +2.357s
24 Michael Laverty Aprilia 1:22.947 +2.611s
25 Claudio Corti Forward Yamaha 1:23.374 +3.038s

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]