FIA releases 21 race 2016 Formula 1 calendar

The 2016 Formula 1 calendar will see 21 races

The 2016 Formula 1 calendar will see 21 races

The FIA has approved a 21-race Formula 1 World Championship calendar for 2016, locking in several key date changes.

Signed off at an FIA World Motor Sport Council meeting in Mexico, the calendar is unchanged from the draft version released earlier this year.

The new race in Azerbaijan takes a July 17 date and is slated to follow the return of the German Grand Prix at a yet-to-be-confirmed venue.

The April 3 date for Australia ensures the latest season start in almost three decades.

The Australian race will be immediately followed by China, with former second race holder Malaysia moving to September.

Calendar: 2016 Formula 1 World Championship

April 3 Australia
April 10 China
April 24 Bahrain
May 1 Sochi
May 15 Spain
May 29 Monaco
June 12 Canada
June 26 UK
July 3 Austria
July 17 Baku
July 31 Germany
August 7 Hungary
August 28 Belgium
September 4 Italy
September 18 Singapore
September 25 Malaysia
October 9 Japan
October 23 USA (Austin)
October 30 Mexico
November 13 Brazil
November 27 Abu Dhabi


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]