Formula 4 confirms entry list for Townsville debut

Formula 4 will welcome a 12 car grid at Townsville opener

Formula 4 will welcome a 12 car grid at Townsville opener

The CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship has confirmed a 12 car grid for the inaugural round at the Castrol Edge Townsville 400.

The opening meeting of the all new junior single seater series will feature five-car entries from Team BRM and AGI Sport and a two-car effort from Dream Motorsport.

While regulations cap teams at four cars, Team BRM and AGI Sport have been permitted to lease a fifth car on a round-by-round basis.

New South Wales squad AGI Sport confirmed last week that it will run Mygale F4 cars for Tom Grech, Jimmy Vernon and Will Brown, alongside new recruits Jack Sipp and Jordan Love, who are on race-by-race deals.

Team BRM will field a five car entry at Townsville headlined by last year’s Australian Formula Ford Series runner-up Jordan Lloyd.

He is joined by karting graduates Zane Goddard, Harry Hayek, Frankie Maiolo and Drew Ridge.

The grid is completed by Dream’s line-up of reigning Australian Formula Ford Series champion Thomas Randle and Luis Leeds.

CAMS motorsport development manager Cameron McConville had initially targeted a grid of 15 cars for the opening round and although disappointed to miss the mark, he is optimistic that numbers will increase during the season.

“Hopefully it will continue to climb as we have people come on board during the year as they want to sample it for next year,” McConville told

“I’m confident it won’t decrease and what we will also do we will run a rookie day probably in August and September and invite some go-karters and some kids on other categories that are looking at it to do some laps.”

The entire field completed a successful final test day at Queensland’s Morgan Park circuit today.

“It went really well, it was certainly one of the smoothest of test days which is what you want in race week,” added McConville.

“Happily I can report that we have got on top of the technical trouble-shooting issues we had.

“None were big showstoppers but all cars ran smoothly without any issues at all which is fantastic.”

The first official practice session for the Australian Formula 4 Championship will take place at 0740 on Friday.

CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship Entry List

Number Team Driver State Sponsor
2 Team BRM Frankie Maiolo QLD
3 Team BRM Zane Goddard QLD BGD Architects/PWR/Parry Group
4 Team BRM Drew Ridge NSW Brian Hilton Sydney Motor Group
15 AGI Sport Tom Grech SA IQ Option Racing
20 AGI Sport Jack Sipp NSW
25 AGI Sport Jimmy Vernon QLD Team Toolforce Racing
26 Team BRM Harry Hayek NSW
49 Dream Motorsport Thomas Randle VIC
79 AGI Sport Jordan Love WA
94 Team BRM Jordan Lloyd QLD
96 Dream Motorsport Luis Leeds VIC
99 AGI Sport Will Brown VIC Cars Galore


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]