POLL: Who will win the 2015 V8 Supercars title?

Who will win the 2015 V8 Supercars title?

Who will win the 2015 V8 Supercars title?

The ebb and flow of the championship has seen the battle for the V8 Supercars title intensify ahead of the Castrol Edge Townsville 400 in two weeks.

After a rough run in recent events, last week’s Pirtek Poll asked whether Jamie Whincup’s stunning title run will come to an end this season.

The results showed that over two thirds of almost 3,000 voters feel that Whincup will not claim a fifth straight title.

The Red Bull star had been the favourite ahead of the season, topping January’s Pirtek Poll asking for fans to predict the eventual champion.

This begs the question; who is the new favourite for the 2015 title?

Prodrive’s Fords have set the pace in recent rounds, with Mark Winterbottom capitalising to lead the standings on 1165 points.

Less than 300 points – the equivalent of one event – separates the top nine drivers, all of whom can legitimately stake their claim as contenders.

Of those nine, all bar Shane van Gisbergen and Garth Tander have won at least one race from the year’s opening 15 encounters.

Van Gisbergen had been second favourite to Whincup in January’s pre-season Pirtek Poll with Scott McLaughlin, who now sits just 18th in the standings, third.

With plenty of twists and turns still to come from the remaining eight events, this week’s Pirtek Poll asks, who will win the 2015 title?

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]