Rossi sets record pace to claim Assen pole

Valentino Rossi

Valentino Rossi

Valentino Rossi produced a blistering display to smash the Assen qualifying lap record to scoop pole position for the Dutch Grand Prix.

The Yamaha rider had been languishing in the lower reaches of the top 10 for much of the session before posting an impressive 1:32.627s effort to snatch pole position in the dying moments.

Rossi’s time obliterated Casey Stoner’s 2012 qualifying lap record at the famous Assen circuit by more than a second.

Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro, who had moved to the top of the times during his second run, trailed the nine-time world champion by 0.2s.

Both Rossi and Espargaro were hit with a €2,000 fine and had their first timed laps wiped from the session, after Race Direction deemed the pair gained an unfair advantage by leaving the pit lane whilst the red light and red flag was displayed.

Honda’s Marc Marquez completed the front row in third with the reigning world champion looking more at home aboard the 2014 chassis.

It proved to be a strong session for Honda with Dani Pedrosa heading up row two in fourth, ahead of Tech 3 Yamaha’s Pol Espargaro and Ducati’s Andrea Iannone.

LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow will start Saturday’s race from seventh alongside title contender Jorge Lorenzo, who ended up 0.4s adrift of his team-mate Rossi, having struggled throughout the session.

The sister Suzuki of Maverick Vinales was ninth with Ducati’s Andrea Dovzioso rounding out the top 10.

Australia’s Jack Miller will start the Dutch Grand Prix from 20th position on the grid for LCR Honda.

Result: MotoGP Dutch Grand Prix qualifying

Position Rider Bike Time Gap
1 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1:32.627s
2 Aleix Espargaró Suzuki 1:32.858s +0.231s
3 Marc Márquez Honda 1:32.886s +0.259s
4 Dani Pedrosa Honda 1:32.987s +0.360s
5 Pol Espargaró Tech 3 Yamaha 1:33.013s +0.386s
6 Andrea Iannone Ducati 1:33.016s +0.389s
7 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1:33.028s +0.401s
8 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1:33.042s +0.415s
9 Maverick Viñales Suzuki 1:33.076s +0.449s
10 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:33.112s +0.485s
11 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati 1:33.126s +0.499s
12 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 1:33.236s +0.609s
13 Stefan Bradl Forward Yamaha 1:33.789s +1.162s
14 Yonny Hernández Pramac Ducati 1:33.875s +1.248s
15 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha 1:33.999s +1.372s
16 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda 1:34.071s +1.444s
17 Héctor Barberá Avintia Ducati 1:34.223s +1.596s
18 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Ducati 1:34.289s +1.662s
19 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 1:34.428s +1.801s
20 Jack Miller LCR Honda 1:34.645s +2.018s
21 Álvaro Bautista Gresini Aprilia 1:34.736s +2.109s
22 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 1:34.972s +2.345s
23 Alex de Angelis ART/Aprilia 1:35.189s +2.562s
24 Marco Melandri Gresini Aprilia 1’36.376 +3.749s

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]